Marble Swirl Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I bake a lot of cakes, and I will be using this recipe again. As others suggested, I reduced the flour by about 1/2 cup. It turned out moist and delicious. I also used 2 8" pans instead of a tube pan and reduced the time. Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I took the popular advice and used only 2 3/4 cups flour and baked about 50 minutes. And yet, it was still a little dry. The flavor was nice, but I think this recipe could have used more eggs and maybe even less flour. If I make it again, I might be adventurous enough to experiment with 2 1/4 cups flour. We'll see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I didn't follow the recipe instructions, which weren't specific enough. I put the sugar in the blender for 20sec to turn it into superfine sugar, so it would dissolve more readily into the batter. Then, I creamed the butter for 3mins, added the superfine sugar and beat for another 3mins, added eggs and beat until smooth and fluffy, about 2mins. Then I sifted the dry ingredients except cocoa together, and added to the batter alternating between the flour mixture and the milk. At this point, I was using a spatula to fold the ingredients in. After taking some batter out for the choco part, I also sifted the cocoa powder to get rid of lumps. Not sure how it would have turned out if I wasn't so fussy about mixing, but mine seemed fine. Also used both almond and vanilla extracts. I also reduced flour, and a bit of sugar. It still seems a bit dry. My mom liked how it was nice and crusty around the edges fresh out of the oven though. Well, let's see how its like tomorrow. UPDATE: Blergh. It's too dry... I like my old marbled yogurt loaf recipe better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
My first marble pound cake attempt and it turned out great! I took the advice of everyone else and cut the flower back to 2 3/4 cups. Serve warm with butter and tea! Will make again. Thanx!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Thank You very much for submitting this recipe! This was the first cake I made from scratch and everyone loved it!! I was so proud!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Yup, it was dry. Flavor was alright, the kids ate it but I probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Has great flavor. I didn't know what a tube pan was so I tried putting it in a bread pan but there was too much batter so I ended up putting 1/4 of the batter in one bread pan and the other 3/4 in another bread pan and kept and eye on it in the oven for doneness. I later found out that a tube pan is a bunt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Really really good, everyone LOVED it. Following others suggestions, I just did 3 1/4 cups of flour, (and we're high altitude, 7800 ft) and then added a TBSP of milk to the choclate mixture when I added the cocoa, baked for 50 minutes exactly and it came out wonderfully moist and deliccious. We sliced it and had it with strawberries, chocolate sauce, and whipped cream~ it was lovely. The kids delared this "version" of strawberry shortcake THE BOMB. It was a great mix of not too chocolately or sweet, but satified all those together. Mmmmm Thank you for this great recipe, I will make it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
This got rave reviews on Mothers day. I thought it was still a little dry. I followed the recommendations of some others to cut the flour by 1/2 cup, and to cook it for 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
This was one of cake that my family love it.But instead of 1/4 coco, I make 150g Extrafine Milk chocolate melted and reduce some sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States