Marble Chiffon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I didn't personally taste this cake, but I made this cake as a thank-you for a friend and she said that it was gone in the same day! It must've been delicious, as is everything from Taste of Home. This cake takes a few extra steps, but it's totally worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
This is the best cake ever! When my children were small (in college now) we used to stop at this wonderful bakery that made the best marble chiffon cake that my boys loved. The bakery closed and I started looking for a recipe that would duplicate that cake. Well after reviewing many books and recipes from the internet I tried this cake and I knew I had it. I brought it to work for someone's B'day and he wanted to take home any leftover cake. Everyone loves it and I have given it to many of my friends. This cake never lasts long! Thank you for submitting this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
This is a good recipe....a little tip for those looking for a more intense chocolate flavor, try frosting it with a fluffy, mousse-like chocolate frosting. And to the others that complained of the lack of butter, chiffon cakes MUST be made with oil, otherwise it wouldn't be a chiffon cake. Try a layer cake recipe if you are looking for a butter cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I made this cake for my friend's mom & it got rave reviews! The orange zest gave it a wonderful taste. I did add 2 tbs vanilla & used unsalted butter instead of oil. There were no leftovers. I didn't use the glaze; I frosted with buttercream frosting & it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Moist, flavorful. easy. It is in my keeper file. I waivered from 4 stars to 5 stars since it isn't "THE BEST" ever, but I wouldn't hesitate to make it for any guest or occasion and it seems no fail so it gets 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Montana
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Delish! I tweaked a little making this a "orange/chocolate marble chiffon cake". I subbed orange juice for water & made a chocolate glaze. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Montana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This cake takes some time to make but it is worth it! I have made marble cake before but always came out a bit dry, chiffon cake is always light and fluffy so this mixture is great. The flavor is amazing and my family is now calling this a favorite! I wil def. be making this again. Just a tip you do not need that much baking powder, I actually had to substitute using baking soda and cream of tarter and I only put about 2 teaspoons ( 1 tablespoon= 2 teaspoons) and it came out PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Samia Asaad
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Amazing recipe. Thank you Sharon. Cake turned out very good and the family loved it. I made a slight addition to this recipe by adding 1 tsp vanilla essence. Secondly, since I could not find cream of tartar so I added 2 drops of lemon juice instead which turned out to be a good substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samia Asaad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
This cake tasted great.Was soft and had great texture.Inspite of using just oil and the absence of butter/vanilla the flavor was right on.Reminded me of the lovely marble cake from my hometown.The only change I made was to use a little over 1/3rd cup semi-sweet choclate chips(melted in microwave and mixed with 2 tbs oil) instead of cocoa. This did not affect the taste at all and saved me time. But next time I will definitely add more to make it more chocolatey.I did not add the orange zest or glaze.Instead I used the chocolate hard glaze from this site.Mmmm...Even though this recipe deserves 5 stars I gave it only 4 'coz I had difficulty getting it out of the pan.Make sure to grease your pan just to be safe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I made this cake for a dinner party and it was well received because it wasn't too sweet and the glaze was a nice complement to the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States