Marble Chiffon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I didn't personally taste this cake, but I made this cake as a thank-you for a friend and she said that it was gone in the same day! It must've been delicious, as is everything from Taste of Home. This cake takes a few extra steps, but it's totally worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Definitely a very pretty and yummy cake. I would've liked a little more chocolate flavor in the batter though, so I might put a little more cocoa powder in next time. And I put chocolate frosting on mine, also very good on it. It's definitely worth the extra steps it takes to make. Very rich and great looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
This is the best cake ever! When my children were small (in college now) we used to stop at this wonderful bakery that made the best marble chiffon cake that my boys loved. The bakery closed and I started looking for a recipe that would duplicate that cake. Well after reviewing many books and recipes from the internet I tried this cake and I knew I had it. I brought it to work for someone's B'day and he wanted to take home any leftover cake. Everyone loves it and I have given it to many of my friends. This cake never lasts long! Thank you for submitting this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I bake cakes professionally and the problem with this recipe is: a vanilla cake that has no butter in it, has no taste. I cannot believe this recipe also had NO vanilla flavoring in it, which also contributed to the lack of taste. I made this recipe as is the first time...It had great volume, but no flavor, and there was not enough chocolate to add any flavor either. If I make it again I will substitute the oil for butter, and add a Tablespoon of vanilla. A great cake should have terrific flavor Before you add the icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
This cake tasted great.Was soft and had great texture.Inspite of using just oil and the absence of butter/vanilla the flavor was right on.Reminded me of the lovely marble cake from my hometown.The only change I made was to use a little over 1/3rd cup semi-sweet choclate chips(melted in microwave and mixed with 2 tbs oil) instead of cocoa. This did not affect the taste at all and saved me time. But next time I will definitely add more to make it more chocolatey.I did not add the orange zest or glaze.Instead I used the chocolate hard glaze from this site.Mmmm...Even though this recipe deserves 5 stars I gave it only 4 'coz I had difficulty getting it out of the pan.Make sure to grease your pan just to be safe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
This is a good recipe....a little tip for those looking for a more intense chocolate flavor, try frosting it with a fluffy, mousse-like chocolate frosting. And to the others that complained of the lack of butter, chiffon cakes MUST be made with oil, otherwise it wouldn't be a chiffon cake. Try a layer cake recipe if you are looking for a butter cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I made this cake for my friend's mom & it got rave reviews! The orange zest gave it a wonderful taste. I did add 2 tbs vanilla & used unsalted butter instead of oil. There were no leftovers. I didn't use the glaze; I frosted with buttercream frosting & it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Super Mom Barraza

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I made this cake for a dinner party and it was well received because it wasn't too sweet and the glaze was a nice complement to the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Moist, flavorful. easy. It is in my keeper file. I waivered from 4 stars to 5 stars since it isn't "THE BEST" ever, but I wouldn't hesitate to make it for any guest or occasion and it seems no fail so it gets 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Montana
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Delish! I tweaked a little making this a "orange/chocolate marble chiffon cake". I subbed orange juice for water & made a chocolate glaze. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Montana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States