Marble Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I was very disapointed in how this cake came out. My husband's loves Marble cake. For his birthday I thought I could make one from scratch. I looked everywhere online and found this recipe. I figured it would come out good but instead it was very heavy and thick tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This cake is amazing! I made no changes to this recipe but I did mix it properly. You just can't dump everything in and bake. I beat the butter first,then add the sugar,then eggs 1at a time. The flour,salt,and baking powder are mixed together and added alternately with the milk beginning and ending with the flour. If this process is followed you will end up with a moist flavorful cake. I have added chocolate syrup and less unsweetend coco powder to make it more milk chocolate flavor. I always double this recipe to make a 2 layer cake and it always rises beatifully! I've made this 4-5 times in the last month and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I normally go for easy recipes, requiring less work. This is a perfect marble cake which can be prepared fuss-free. The amount of sweetness is just nice. My family loves it. This recipe's a definate keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This recipe is far too dense, tastes funny, not fluffy at all. I made them into cupcakes and the cupcake paper ripped off most of the bottom part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I followed the recipe to a t and it was good. Family approved. I also liked it but it had the consistency of a muffin rather than cake. I made a double batch. 1 cake was cute by my impatient family and the other one I'll be frosting to see if that completes the taste for me. I'm thinking of adding a bit more sugar, but possibly after I fill and frost, it won't need any more sugar. It came it out nice and fluffy which is usually hard to achieve. I'll be trying this again real soon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Very nice. I used the other suggestions and creamed the butter and sugar first,then added vanilla and eggs,then dry ingredients. Since my family have a slightly sweeter taste I added chocolate chips and a tad more vanilla to the white batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
This cake was very easy to make. I added a bit more cocoa than in the recipe. It was delicious. Thanks for the recipe! I'll definitely want to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
11 out of 10. Better than store bought. This was the most idiot proof recipe I've every tried. I've baked before and my bf loves cake so i googled a recipe and based on the photo I chose this one. The instructions were not the best but its pretty straight forward. It was just me my ingredients and a manual whisk- started off with binding unsalted butter and less than a cup of sugar until it was smooth and soft (bout 5 minutes of constant turning), then milk, extract, salt, baking powder, eggs. I added the flour in four parts, then cadbury coca that i added some more sugar to because it was a little bitter and baked for 35 minutes in a sealed oven on the top shelf. I say sealed because based on the comments people were saying it was dry or wasn't great but let me just say now i was shocked with the results, it was moist, it was better than store bought. This is my second cake- the first was store bought and it was so sweet but this was just perfect, the texture and taste was sooooo amazing. This was last night and just 1/4 remain because my bf had half last night while it was still hot, and my sisters want me to bake two for my niece's birthday. Oh and one more thing- the cake shirnk as it cools so u can actually turn it upside down five minutes after and it fell out of the pan with the butter and flour base in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I tried this spectacular recipe and it was so easy to make! It's taste, so perfect. I decided to make this out of boredom and honestly I glad I did!My dad is a baker and he said it was very well done. Instead of cocoa powder I decided to use up some nutella I had stored away. I think it does the job. I recommend this to anyone who enjoys a cup of tea or coffee with some delicious cake after a long day at work. Did I mention it was my first ever cake to bake by myself? I was so surprised and so happy. Thank you ? ? I will be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole7125

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
i can`t wait till i get out of school for i can make this wonderful cake mhmhm this my fav to ayyyy turn up.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States