Marble Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2000
I LOVED IT!~!~!~! It was YUMMY IN MY TUMMY!~!~!~! It's the best cake i've ever had that was marble cake! I LOVE IT SOOOOOOOOOOO MUCH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2001
This cake is so delicious, it's scary. We used this recipe for my brother's birthday and blew everybody away. We've made it several times since then, and it only seems to get better. I like to use a chocolate glaze with it, made out of powdered sugar, cocoa powder and milk. Thanks a bunch, Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
This is a great cake. I made it for my mom for her birthday with a chocolate icing. My dad had some of it and thought it was great. That is like winning and oscar. It is hard to find a cake recipe he likes. Thanks Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
Perfect excellent best cake I ever had I don't know what those other people are talking about It's not flat and it's sweet enough for me they must of made it wrong bacause I loved it infact I'm going to make it for my birthday with whipped cream. Like i said It's the Best Cake Ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Delicious! I added a little oil as suggested. Much better and just as easy as a box mix (ewww). The cake was gone in 1 day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
A very good and easy cake that tastes great! I followed the recipe exactly and everyone loved it! I personally think that adding more sugar would make the cake too sweet, but that really depends on the cook's taste. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Thessaloniki, Central Macedonia, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This cake was marvelous! I frosted it with a ganache, and it looked like a pretty torte! I can only assume errors in technique, and/or perhaps being accustomed to the sweetness/rising height of cake mix cakes attributed to the perceived undesirable outcomes of other reviewers. A couple of pointers: use a 9-inch pan; prepare the batter in a true from-scratch method (this isn't a cake mix and shouldn't be treated like one!); start checking the cake early and remove when "just" done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This was my first EVER cake made from scratch, it turned out BEAUTIFUL! Since I was using a standard 9x13 cake pan I increased the recipe by half. For example, I used 3 cups of flour, 3 teaspoons baking powder, etc. The only thing I did differently was that I took other users advice and used additional 1/4 cup sugar and 1/4 cup oil. Plus I added 1/2 a package of instant vanilla pudding and 1/2 cup extra milk. The cake evenly filled the pan to about 3 1/2 inches high baked and is EXCEPTIONALLY moist and flavorful. This is from now on going to be our family's standard birthday cake. Thanks for the GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seggen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Underwood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
Awesome Just what I was looking for. I need a cake to go to my in-laws and I'm tired of them complaining that everything I make is too sweet so I looked at the reviews on all the cakes to find something that people said was more bland. I made a sample cake and this is perfect. It isn't super sweet but I don't think it tasts bad at all. I'm making the real one later today. We'll see what they say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Excellent and easy cake! I made this for a co-worker's baby shower cake and brought sample cake made from this recipe and from a very traditional marble cake recipe to the office for them to pick their favorite. This recipe was the unanimous favorite. I made changes as suggested by the other reviewers: added 1/4 cup sugar and 1/4 cup melted shortening to the batter; I also mixed the cocoa with 1 Tablespoon melted shortening prior to mixing into the batter. I also was careful to not overbake the cake. It was moist and full of flavor, absolutely delicious! No cracking of the top, either, and it rose high and light. This is the easiest "from-scratch" cake I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Antioch, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States