Marble Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
As written I am sorry to give this a low rating and normally do not rate a cake under 4. In this case the ingredients are fine but it is the method that produces a heavy dense cake. Suggest that the butter (not anything else) is beaten together with sugar until very, very light and cream. Beat in eggs, one at a time and then blend in dry ingredients alternately with milk. Hope this works for others too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Autumn Leaves
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I love this cake because it's not too sweet. The only change I made was to use margarine instead of butter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Leaves

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This wasn't quite what I was looking for but I didn't have the problems with it coming out flat that other people have written about in other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I love it!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTrapero

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Autumn Cherry
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I promised my friends a good marble cake and the taste came out great! However, it was a bit dry and I would suggest adding more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Cherry

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rachaelgrae
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
This is an excellent recipe that my customers come back for time and time again. The big difference for me is that I don't just throw all the ingredients in like it says. I mix the wet and dry separately, mix the butter with the dry and slowing add the wet mix. People go nuts for it and I think it's a very tastey cake - and I hate marble cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachaelgrae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
my first time making marble cake. turned out pretty well, kind of crumbly, would have preferred a more loaf-like texture. Still pretty good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
As others complained the cake was dry and heavy , I used cake flour 11/3 cups and increased the milk to 1 1/2 cups, it came out light and
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I had to cook this for a lot longer then 35 mins (more like 50) but it turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I made this cake exactly as listed in the recipe. My husband's jaw dropped when he saw it and he loved every bite of it, as did I. Excellent and so simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States