Marble Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I read the reviews before making this cake and was hesitant. Some reviews were very positive and some were bad. Having tried the cake I would say this is the worst cake I have ever tried. It was completely flavorless. You might as well eat cardboard. I would say skip this recipe altogether and keep searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This recipe was so easy and delicious, my husband and his family enjoyed a LOT!! I didn't follow the directions though, I beat the eggs and butter first and put the flour, baking soda, salt and sugar in another bowl. When I had the egg and butter mix ready I added the flour mix and the milk little by little and added 3 teaspoons of oil, at the end put the vanilla. I follow after with the cocoa powder and mixed with the reserved batter. I totally recommended! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
TOTALY DELICIOUS!!! Made it for a friend's birthday party and everybody LOVED it. Thank-you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alondra Solá

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
As written I am sorry to give this a low rating and normally do not rate a cake under 4. In this case the ingredients are fine but it is the method that produces a heavy dense cake. Suggest that the butter (not anything else) is beaten together with sugar until very, very light and cream. Beat in eggs, one at a time and then blend in dry ingredients alternately with milk. Hope this works for others too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Autumn Leaves
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I love this cake because it's not too sweet. The only change I made was to use margarine instead of butter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Leaves

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This wasn't quite what I was looking for but I didn't have the problems with it coming out flat that other people have written about in other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I love it!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTrapero

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Autumn Cherry
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I promised my friends a good marble cake and the taste came out great! However, it was a bit dry and I would suggest adding more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Cherry

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rachaelgrae
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
This is an excellent recipe that my customers come back for time and time again. The big difference for me is that I don't just throw all the ingredients in like it says. I mix the wet and dry separately, mix the butter with the dry and slowing add the wet mix. People go nuts for it and I think it's a very tastey cake - and I hate marble cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachaelgrae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
my first time making marble cake. turned out pretty well, kind of crumbly, would have preferred a more loaf-like texture. Still pretty good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States