Marble Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
We really liked this. I used dark cocoa and thought the chocolate flavor was subtle but delicious, kind of like a german chocolate. I did add the extra 1/4 C of sugar as others suggested and added a bit extra oil and milk. It was a dense cake, but moist. I should have used a deep dish pie plate because it overflowed -- but the overflow actually baked perfectly and tasted great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I made this for my b/f's birthday last weekend and he liked it better than I did. It wasn't my idea of a soft and moist cake. He said it was like cheesecake. I made a double layer and it didn't have the "marble"affect because of doubling everything so I know the next time to use the original amount for the reserve and cocoa fill for the marble affect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dry Branch, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shannon
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I followed the recipe to a T and it turned out perfectly! I used a toothpick to make small marble design then I used a knife to make a bolder marble design. I finished it with chocolate icing. It's an easy tasty dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I should have known from tasting the batter that I wasn't going to like this cake. I've always made my marble cakes from cake boxes and I think I'll stick with that method. This cake was pretty bitter and tastes nothing like anything that comes out a cake box. I like my cakes sweet and rich and this cake is neither. I'm not going to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
good cake, and easy recipes....I add chocolate chips to the chocolate cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Mitchell, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
A delicious cake that turns out perfect every time. I have used this recipe for birthday cakes and always get compliments! Thank you Carol. Personal preference: Extra tasty with peanut butter frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I made this recipe to the "t", but it came out very dry and unflavorful. There's definitely not enough cocoa powder for the chocolate part, and the ratio of vanilla to chocolate wasn't even. Also, it was dry and seemed like more of a muffin/biscuit crumb than cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyrstenlynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I give it two stars because the result was a stiff cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tryeverythingtwice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I really don't know why this cake even rates 3.5 stars, I followed the directions and even mixed wet ingredients first then followed by dry ingredients and it's very very dense. Don't waste your time or ingredients making this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States