Marble Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
As other reviews suggested, I added an additional 1/4 C sugar (and thought it could still use a bit more), and also added the melted shortening along with the butter, however I did not add the additional shortening to the cocoa mixture like others suggested - I wish I had. The cake was pretty dry, very heavy and mild in flavor. It required too many additions to give it a higher rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I love to bake and I am sorry to say that this had to be the worst cake I have ever made. It was very dense and tasted more like cornbread than cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I tried this cake once and it was too dense. I tried it a second time following the suggestion of another user and still got not so great reviews from my guests.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I made this for my boyfriend's birthday - he loved it! I think it was his favorite birthday cake of all time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I read the reviews before making this cake and was hesitant. Some reviews were very positive and some were bad. Having tried the cake I would say this is the worst cake I have ever tried. It was completely flavorless. You might as well eat cardboard. I would say skip this recipe altogether and keep searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This recipe was so easy and delicious, my husband and his family enjoyed a LOT!! I didn't follow the directions though, I beat the eggs and butter first and put the flour, baking soda, salt and sugar in another bowl. When I had the egg and butter mix ready I added the flour mix and the milk little by little and added 3 teaspoons of oil, at the end put the vanilla. I follow after with the cocoa powder and mixed with the reserved batter. I totally recommended! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
TOTALY DELICIOUS!!! Made it for a friend's birthday party and everybody LOVED it. Thank-you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alondra Solá

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
As written I am sorry to give this a low rating and normally do not rate a cake under 4. In this case the ingredients are fine but it is the method that produces a heavy dense cake. Suggest that the butter (not anything else) is beaten together with sugar until very, very light and cream. Beat in eggs, one at a time and then blend in dry ingredients alternately with milk. Hope this works for others too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Autumn Leaves
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I love this cake because it's not too sweet. The only change I made was to use margarine instead of butter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Leaves

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This wasn't quite what I was looking for but I didn't have the problems with it coming out flat that other people have written about in other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States