Marble Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This recipe attracted me because it was so simple; unfortunately I found it needed quite a bit of tweaking. The cake had a nice texture but the flavor was underwhelming and the marbling did not turn out well - the cake looked more layered than marbled. I recommend splitting the batter evenly (rather than 1/4 yellow cake and 3/4 chocolate), then adding a bit more vanilla to the yellow batter and a little more cocoa powder to the chocolate batter. Rather than pouring the yellow batter in the pan first, I would add alternating scoops of yellow and chocolate batter to the pan, to create a nicer marbling effect. I definitely would not repeat this recipe as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junebug8221

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
This did not turn out for me.... it was flavorless :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I would add a bit more cocoa, couldn't taste the chocolate cake too much, it was good though and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I just made this cake and turned out great and yummy!! Abt the moist issue I always add around 4 oz yogurt! It solves the problem!! And added a bit more chocolate and a bit more vanilla extract! It was gooooooood!! Me my two year old cooked it together ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Nothing to write home about but a decent cake. Kind of heavy and dry for my liking, even though I took others advice about mixing wet and dry ingredients separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This recipe was ridick good......used it to bake my grandmother a birthday cake.......I will admit I used oil instead of butter this time around.....but the recipe is great!!!!!! Everyone keeps asking me to make this cake for them lol....I topped it with a cream cheese frosting..... ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
One word: PERFECT! Perfect flavour, perfect texture. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibucarey
Home Town: Semarang, Jawa Tengah, Indonesia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
The picture looks delicious so i decided to make this cake, but the chocolate ratio is definitely not enough. it did not look like a marble cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I doubled this recipe and the cake did not turn out well at all. It came out of the oven with bubbles on top. Once I cut the cake after cooling it, it was too dense and was tasteless as well. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I made it for my dad's birthday and we all loved it so much. This is the best marble cake I have ever tasted, plus it looks beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States