Marble Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
We did not enjoy this cake. The taste was a bit flat and the texture was too dense, almost like a pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brittianynicole
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I just madee this cake last night, it was a 9in roundd pan (2 tiers). I followedd A.Jackson's version... which workedd out really good. The bottom tier of it, I followed the recipes call for 2 tbl. && I found that the mix was really thick, almost pudding like... so for the 2nd tier I cut it in half andd it made the cake less thick. All in all, I'm really pleased with the recipe && I'll be making it for my wedding :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittianynicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Tried this recipie this afternoon, i made it in a ring glass cake pan and it turned out excellent. Best part is the recipie is so easy and fuss free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This cake was so delicious. Everyone in my office loved it. It was extremely rich. The only thing I would have done differently is less flour. However, I was also trying to teach one of my friends how to make a cake, and he added the flour, so we can just blame that on him. Haha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caiti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Gilead, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This cake was very delicious and very easy. Although, it said somewhere that you used an 8 inch pan and somewhere else that you used a 9 inch pan. I used an 8 inch pan and it turned out overcooked on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gizo101

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Wonderfully moist without being wet. The swirls make it truly beautiful. The cake is so flavorful and attractive that it really doesn't need to be frosted. Unfrosted it would be excellent paired with a glass of milk or cup of coffee. I followed the method described by reviewer a.jackson and the cake turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
successful 1st attempt today! Hooray! for the easy recipe. Not so sweet not so oily just nice. Made another 1 1/2 X the same cake in 1 day for the Deepavali festival goodies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jebah daniel
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Baked this cake as week-end treat for my family...Had the wow effect... :). Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Used this as birthday cake as he requested marble cake...two 9" layers, frosted w/Wilton's Buttercream Frosting with almond flavoring...for middle, I used half a jar of Solo Strawberry Filling...tasted really good, the frosting was kind of sweet but everyone ate their share w/some ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vandergrift, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This recipe attracted me because it was so simple; unfortunately I found it needed quite a bit of tweaking. The cake had a nice texture but the flavor was underwhelming and the marbling did not turn out well - the cake looked more layered than marbled. I recommend splitting the batter evenly (rather than 1/4 yellow cake and 3/4 chocolate), then adding a bit more vanilla to the yellow batter and a little more cocoa powder to the chocolate batter. Rather than pouring the yellow batter in the pan first, I would add alternating scoops of yellow and chocolate batter to the pan, to create a nicer marbling effect. I definitely would not repeat this recipe as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junebug8221

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States