Marble Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I give this a 2 stars because of reviewes regarding it being too dense and having to alter instructions as many suggested by creaming sugar and butter FIRST then adding eggs one at a time. I took this reccomendations and also added yogurt as someone else suggested to help make it more moist. I also added a table spoon of canola oil to ensure its moisture since I was making it for a Baby shower. It was an ok cake. NOt the best but not so bad either. Im glad I read the reviewes and made changes to recipe otherwise I think I would have been very disapointed had it not been for alterations. I was also wondering if anyone measured the cups in this recipe. Since it says its for an 8 inch cake its supposed to be 6cups. Unless I measured wrong I only got 4 and 1/3cups? I had to make extra as I needed the exact amount. Also anyone have a better recipe they dont mine sharing?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
This cake was delicious! All the other marble cake recipes I tried always came out crumbly and dry. But this one was perfect! Not too moist and not too dry. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Yes I made it. So good , wonderful, my kids like it so much, thanks a lot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Tasty and Easy - Follow directions recommended by others. Mixing all ingredients together wouldn't incorporate well in my mind. Start with the butter and sugar. Except for the milk, add all other wet ingredients mixing well after each addition. Mix dry ingredients in another bowl. Alternate between adding dry and milk to batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
We did not enjoy this cake. The taste was a bit flat and the texture was too dense, almost like a pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brittianynicole
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I just madee this cake last night, it was a 9in roundd pan (2 tiers). I followedd A.Jackson's version... which workedd out really good. The bottom tier of it, I followed the recipes call for 2 tbl. && I found that the mix was really thick, almost pudding like... so for the 2nd tier I cut it in half andd it made the cake less thick. All in all, I'm really pleased with the recipe && I'll be making it for my wedding :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittianynicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Tried this recipie this afternoon, i made it in a ring glass cake pan and it turned out excellent. Best part is the recipie is so easy and fuss free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This cake was so delicious. Everyone in my office loved it. It was extremely rich. The only thing I would have done differently is less flour. However, I was also trying to teach one of my friends how to make a cake, and he added the flour, so we can just blame that on him. Haha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caiticaiticaiti
Home Town: Mount Gilead, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This cake was very delicious and very easy. Although, it said somewhere that you used an 8 inch pan and somewhere else that you used a 9 inch pan. I used an 8 inch pan and it turned out overcooked on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gizo101

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Wonderfully moist without being wet. The swirls make it truly beautiful. The cake is so flavorful and attractive that it really doesn't need to be frosted. Unfrosted it would be excellent paired with a glass of milk or cup of coffee. I followed the method described by reviewer a.jackson and the cake turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States