Marble Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This recipe is far too dense, tastes funny, not fluffy at all. I made them into cupcakes and the cupcake paper ripped off most of the bottom part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I followed the recipe to a t and it was good. Family approved. I also liked it but it had the consistency of a muffin rather than cake. I made a double batch. 1 cake was cute by my impatient family and the other one I'll be frosting to see if that completes the taste for me. I'm thinking of adding a bit more sugar, but possibly after I fill and frost, it won't need any more sugar. It came it out nice and fluffy which is usually hard to achieve. I'll be trying this again real soon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Very nice. I used the other suggestions and creamed the butter and sugar first,then added vanilla and eggs,then dry ingredients. Since my family have a slightly sweeter taste I added chocolate chips and a tad more vanilla to the white batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
This cake was very easy to make. I added a bit more cocoa than in the recipe. It was delicious. Thanks for the recipe! I'll definitely want to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
11 out of 10. Better than store bought. This was the most idiot proof recipe I've every tried. I've baked before and my bf loves cake so i googled a recipe and based on the photo I chose this one. The instructions were not the best but its pretty straight forward. It was just me my ingredients and a manual whisk- started off with binding unsalted butter and less than a cup of sugar until it was smooth and soft (bout 5 minutes of constant turning), then milk, extract, salt, baking powder, eggs. I added the flour in four parts, then cadbury coca that i added some more sugar to because it was a little bitter and baked for 35 minutes in a sealed oven on the top shelf. I say sealed because based on the comments people were saying it was dry or wasn't great but let me just say now i was shocked with the results, it was moist, it was better than store bought. This is my second cake- the first was store bought and it was so sweet but this was just perfect, the texture and taste was sooooo amazing. This was last night and just 1/4 remain because my bf had half last night while it was still hot, and my sisters want me to bake two for my niece's birthday. Oh and one more thing- the cake shirnk as it cools so u can actually turn it upside down five minutes after and it fell out of the pan with the butter and flour base in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I tried this spectacular recipe and it was so easy to make! It's taste, so perfect. I decided to make this out of boredom and honestly I glad I did!My dad is a baker and he said it was very well done. Instead of cocoa powder I decided to use up some nutella I had stored away. I think it does the job. I recommend this to anyone who enjoys a cup of tea or coffee with some delicious cake after a long day at work. Did I mention it was my first ever cake to bake by myself? I was so surprised and so happy. Thank you ? ? I will be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole7125

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
i can`t wait till i get out of school for i can make this wonderful cake mhmhm this my fav to ayyyy turn up.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Too dense, dry and bland. We will continue to look for a good marble cake recipe .. this just wasn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHS387

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
There is absolutely no taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefMina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Bethpage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
This cake turned out terrible, like sweet bread like jiffy corn muffins from a box. I was trying to give it 1 star but it wouldn't allow me to! It was really dense like a brownie in a not so good way. It wasn't very sweet at all either. I creamed the butter and sugar first added eggs one at a time and added flour and milk alternating and added vanilla. I have never had a cake turn or this way before. Perfect corn muffins for chili, if that's what your going for. Minus the corn meal of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States