Marble Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I agreee with other reviewers that the cake is dense, but if you are aware of that going in, it's delicious. If you don't want a dense marble cake, look for a different recipe and stop trying to modify this one to turn it into something it's not. The first time I made this cake I baked it in a loaf pan (to satisfy my 6 year-old son). I loved it, he didn't, so I shared it with some of my high school students. They loved it, too, and asked me to make another one for them. I just made it again to share with them for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liza Sklar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Not bad - it definitely did the trick but I thought it was maybe a little too dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Strathroy, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Thank you for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I made this cake and it was very good; however the next time I make it I am going to add about a 1/2 cup more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I followed the recipe to a t, with the exception of "substituting" cake flour for all-purpose (take out 2 T less per cup of flour and sift again). It was pretty good, but it definitely needs some modifications. For one, the cake was very dry - if I make it again I'll add half of a pudding mix to it to make it more moist. I also think the vanilla part of the cake could be more vanilla-y. After taking out the 3/4 cup for the chocolate, I might add a little more vanilla, too. I used 2 9" pans to bake so it made a thin layer cake and it took just under 20 min to bake. Other than that, kudos for being a very easy recipe to make and easily modified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I really wanted to like this cake... However, it was very dense, it did not rise and the flavor just wasn't there. Needless to say, I could not serve this cake to my party guests in good conscience. I was forced to make my "go to" Black Magic cake, from this site. Everyone loves that cake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDHEAD_T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
quick and easy to prepare. i didn't have enough regular milk, so i substituted buttermilk. not sure if it makes any difference, but the batter was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
This is an amazing cake. I doubled it for two 9” layers, adding 25% more sugar and 50% more butter (salted), as other reviewers suggested. With three sticks of butter and all of four eggs, it was practically torte! Light, crumbly and heavy all at the same time. Add to that the butter cream icing and… well, they loved it. Even so, I would say it's flavor was pretty mellow due to all the eggs and butter. I think you could fix this cake’s flavor problem, as noted by other reviewers, by doubling the salt. My best yellow cake recipe calls for lots of eggs and butter, as well, but about double the salt. A little extra vanilla or higher quality vanilla will round out the flavor, as well. Next time, I will use salted butter again, just not so much of it, and double the salt, add a little extra vanilla and no extra sugar. Oh, and one more thing—I am a purist about presoaking baking flour before cooking with it (or using sprout flour), so for this recipe, I mixed the flour, milk and salt in the evening around 7 p.m. and let it sit at room temperature overnight. The next morning, I mixed the remaining ingredients in a separate bowl, added the flour mixture to it, and baked it in two insulated 9” round pans for about 45 minutes. Worked out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartland, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
The best marble cake I ever baked. I baked it few hours ago and I tell you it is moist and the sweetness is just right. I reduced the sugar of course but not much. And I did not use all purpose flour I used unbleached flour and for the chocolate part I did not use cocoa powder instead I use chocolate syrup you know the syrup you use on your ice cream. OVer all I think the receipi is great though I have to change a little bit of the recepi but it work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
the best marble cake i have made. i used margarine instead of butter. i added icing sugar to top of cake. delicious and a great hit for a father's day cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesecake07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States