Maraschino Cherry Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
This is a moist and delicious cake. The recipe makes a big cake. If you love cherries you will love this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
I made this yesterday for my husband's birthday and he loved it. Even though I cheated and used a pound cake mix, I still used this frosting recipe, cutting the sugar down to 1 1/2 cups. The frosting was wonderful and would be great on any type of cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
I have baked many pound cakes and this one is at the top. This is a very large cake with a heavy and moist texture. Makes a beautiful Valentine cake - just add a pinch of red food coloring paste to the icing along with a few well drained chopped cherries! BEAUTIFUL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
I baked this cake earlier this week. I decided to bring some to work and share it with my co-workers, they loved it, everyone that had a piece loved it - great recipe, especially for those who love cherries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This cake turned out excellent, moist, dense and yes it was a large cake so I took some to work and everyone loved it. I used Watkins doublem strength vanilla for the flavoring. Oh, and to the member who said it tasted like shortening and flour.... honey use butter flavored shortening, anyone who bakes much knows that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
i give 5 star. It's really yummy & easy. Only make 1/3 from the recipe & put in medium cup, yields 24 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belle1624

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Absolutely large, dense beautiful pound cake. I, also used butter flavored shortening. Other adjustments included increasing cherries to 1 1/4 c., substituting 1 1/2 t. vanilla and 1 t. almond extract in place of butternut extract. Since I wanted to display this cake I did not make the frosting. Will definately make again, although frosting would certainly be yummy it truly is not necessary. Watch cooking time, outside was tiny bit dry but everyone raved about taste, beauty and size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Like another, I cheated and used a boxed pound cake mix. Could not find butternut extract so I substituted 1 ts of vanilla and 1 ts of almond extract. This was absolutely delicious! Would make the original recipe if I needed a large number of servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Homosassa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I can say anything but good good good! As a baker I usually test receipes out first to see how good they are. I knew as soon as I read this receipe, it was going to be something wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Really good, really big cake! I added slivered almonds to the cake and cherry juice to the frosting to thin it out a bit. Instead of icing the sides, I let the frosting run over the sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States