Maraschino Cherry Nut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2001
Very light and refreshing. Delicious and looks great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
This is really good. my cake came out moist and yummy. thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
What a thrill to find this recipe on your fun site! This was my mom's favorite cake--often making an appearance at family events--but the recipe disappeared when she died 25 years ago. My sisters and I were determined to find a reasonable facsimile--but this is the REAL DEAL. The cake itself is fine-textured, moist, and oh-so-flavorful. My family isn't keen on frosting, so I served it faintly warm with a scoop of good vanilla ice cream and a homemade hot fudge sauce (Try one of those featured on this site.) Pretty fine! Could the dryness reported by one reviewer be the result of using the wrong flour-measuring technique? Be sure to spoon the cake flour into the cup and level off. Any other technique will give you too much flour and result in a dry cake. Overbaking will do the same thing, of course. Wish I could give this 4 1/2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
This recipe is excellent. It presents beautifully. I did alter the frosting just a tad. Instead of the food coloring, I used the cherry juice and some very finely diced marashino cherries. It gave the frosting a very nice pink tint and the little chunks of cherry gave the frosting a little variety in texture. I also made this recipe into cupcakes and you do have to be careful not to overbake it. It can dry out. All in all, this is as close to my grandmothers recipe that I have found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daleroach

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This cake was just alright. Not quite as light as I had expected, but my toddlers gobbled it up just the same. Next time, I'll make it without frosting - it adds way too much sweetness to an already sweet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKendra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milo, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
The cake was very heavy. My family of five didn't care for it. I wouldn't make this cake again,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Blair Davis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I followed this recipe to the tee and there are some flaws with it. First, there is no way you can get 2 9in pans worth of cake out of that batter. If you try, the cook time won't be right. 30 min will make the cake tuff on the outside. Second, there wasn't enough cherries. There were some pieces of cake that didn't have ANY cherries in it!!!! I'm going to give it another try(with alterations) before I kick this recipe to the curb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States