Mara's Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I'm not a big fan of sweet sauces for meat, and I didn't like this one either. There was just way too much brown sugar for me. I also didn't like how the breading got really soggy and flavorless from baking in the sauce. I probably won't try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Just had this for dinner. My whole family enjoyed it, even my picky kids! I did use thin sliced pork chops & jar sauce (chunky basil). I covered the pan with foil & could cut them with a fork. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly & it came out so tender & tasty. Even my picky fiancee kept saying how great it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cut Off, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This was pretty good. I didn't use the eggs, bread crumbs or veggie oil, and didn't fry them at all. I put them in the baking dish raw, put the liquid mixture (after boiling and simmering) on top and baked them for an hour. These were great. 14 points for WW following the recipe, 10 without frying them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniellePaoli

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Living In: Belvidere, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
These were tasty enough. Good flavor. However, the sauce does not thicken at all. I ended up putting in on the stove top and thickening it a little bit by putting instant potato flakes in it. The chops were not near as tender as I thought they would be judging by other reviews. They were moist but not overly tender. I did cover them for 45 minutes of the cooking time because, in my experience, they turn out more dry and less tender if cooked uncovered. I'm glad I didn't cook uncovered the whole time now. Hubby isn't a big fan of tomato based things but he liked them. Didn't love them but liked them enough. They could have been a lot more tender though. Over all a decent recipe and I will make it again from time to time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARLA66

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I needed another pork chop recipe in my dinner rotation, so I decided to try this one. Easy to make and my husband and kids loved it! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
These were not really what I was expecting but they were really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Just a note: the chops should be baked covered (not uncovered as recipe indicates).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
It is a good recipe for a sweet and tangy flavor. To make this even simpler just use your favorite BBQ sauce and bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Wow. Like someone else said, I was skeptical about the sweetness, but it did some major justice to the meal. My husband loved it and my kids actually ate it. I also did not have tomato juice, so I added one small can of tomato sauce and one 14 oz can of diced tomatoes which I crushed on their way out of the can (in my hands, it was fun). Other than that, I stayed true to the recipe. Served with Chicken Broth rice and cabbage (saute with margarine). Definite hit at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kasha_n_kids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States