Mapled Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I did this ham last year for Thanksgiving. I took out the cloves cause I don't care for them. I used Sprite instead of water and added the juice from the pineapple to the sauce. I also used a 12Lb bone in ham (had to adjust the amount of ingredients). The ham was sweet all the way into the bone. I had read some reviews that said not to rebaste with the sauce after it had been mixed with the Sprite, but I did and the ham was PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
4.5 STARS --- Very good, very simple. (did add cornstarch & not use cloves) note to self: don't over cook (bit of burnt flavor)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ColleenHunter
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Tastes great! Used half the water and skipped the cloves though (personal taste). My family loved the maple flavour. Also, we used a spiral-cut bone-in ham because it tastes more natural and less rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenHunter

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This recipe has good potential but needs tweaking. Don't get me wrong the ham still turned out great but I was expecting a thicker sauce, lost all that maple syrup in the water. I should have read the other reviews closer. No need to put 2 cups of water in, and the sauce needed to be a LOT of thickener.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Really enjoyed this recipe. I have to give it four stars though because I didn't do exactly like the recipe said. I used half the amount of ham and didn't use pineapple just because I didn't have any. Also, instead of the whole cloves I just srinkled on some ground cloves before baking and it was perfect mixed in with the sauce. I halved the sauce and water. Super yummy. The sauce was awesome, loved the maple flavoring. I will definitely do this again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Ham came out EXCELLENT!!! I didn't have whole cloves, so I mixed ground cloves in with some pineapple juice from the can and injected it into the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richfield Springs, New York, USA
Living In: Great Bend, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I made this ham for Christmas last year and plan on making it today as well. The compliments are out the roof. My only substitute was using a smoked bone-in ham. This gives it a real gourmet look and the flavour is enhanced by keeping the bones intact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Majin the look on all the yungins faces when they eat this hayum! Lil Bubba likes it soo much! Makes my mama wanna give up dem Marlboro's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
THIS RECIPE WAS THE BIGGEST HIT EVER!!! I DID MAKE MINOR CHANGES THOUGH. I DID NOT ADD CLOVES TO IT B/C I WOULD LOOSE THEM IN THE HAM AND ACCIDENTLY EAT THEM. GROSS!! Any ways i bought an already cut with bone in spiraled ham. I personally think its so much better to use if you want the best taste/flavor. I made the sauce like the recipe said but i added another cup of mapled syrup and i also got liguid brown sugar and added the whole bottle to it. Anyways i mixed it all up with the other ingriedients this recipe calls for and heated it on the stove. Then (THIS IS A BIG ONE)instead of constinitley basting the ham i cut the ham up into its already thin spiral slices. I lay out the ham in a foil pan and add the sauce to it, so that it covers the ham completley, so its just sitting in this sauce. I add the pineapples and cover it with aluminom foil. I then put it in the oven on low heat about 300 degrees and i let it cook for about 4-6 hrs. This way the flavor is unbelievable and i promise you ever time i make this for big holiday parties, its a huge!!! hit. Try it and you will see!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I made this last night. It came out wonderful!!! The kids finally kept there mouths shut and ate!!! (Only Somewhat Kidding!!!) I look at all the reviews and the only thing different from the recipe I did was use the pineapple juice instead of the water and some cornstarch to thicken the sauce. Came out great thanks for the sharing the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States