Mapled Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This is a simple but very good way to make a holiday ham. My mother, who's been making hams for 30+ years, actually asked me for the recipe after I served this! I think that cooking it in water makes it a little more juicy than it would be otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
As other reviewers have stated, the syrup mixture needs to be thickened with cornstarch, otherwise it just runs off the ham. And next time I'll reduce the water to only 1 cup. Due to the volume of water (combined with the ham juices and the syrup runoff), the ham was literally boiling in deep liquid toward the end when I went to baste it. I won't use cloves anymore since they only flavored the ham immediately surrounding each one, and they are bitter when accidently bitten into (they are small and easy to overlook). Flavor was good, would probably be much better with a thickened syrup which remains on the ham instead of running off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Excellent recipe! It went over very well and I as well as my guests enjoyed the end results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merovingian

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
This was a big Fathers Day hit at our dinner table. I really wanted to try this glaze but all I had to work with was a large bone-in half-ham. So I baked it following the package directions, then the last hour is when I added pineapple rings, cherries and cloves. It made a beautiful presentation and was just as tasty as it looked pretty. I arranged ham slices on a pretty platter, poured some of the glaze over the meat, and garnished the edges with the pineapple and cherries. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WIFEMOMCOOKMAID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
My husband and I both enjoyed this ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
As sujested by someone else, you should thicken sauce. Otherwise you are basting all the time with watery baste, also didn't want to waste the expensive maple syrup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
Nice recipe Colleen. I thickened the sauce with cornstarch and it was truly delicious. True comfort food!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
I ended up with a good ham considering how much I drifted from the original directions. I preped up the ham as directed (pineapple and cloves) and poured half the maple syrup, brown sugar, honey and butter mixture over the ham, but ended up basting it with the pan juices which was the water and suryp mix and only basted a few times at that. Next time I will follow directions verbatum and even though I got plenty of compliments today I'm sure I'll get a lot more then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-58 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States