Maple and Ginger Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
My grandmother from Maine used to make maple syrup beans for all the get togethers. This recipe was much like hers if I remember right, except for the ginger. We didn't care for the taste, it seemed to overpower the other flavors. I will try this again without the ginger. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
a truly great tasting bean recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillydee
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I made these beans to go with my smoked chicken dinner. I did a quick soak on the GN beans and then cooked an hour as per directed. Next time I would not cook that long b4 going into the slow cooker, but mine cooks sort of hot. I subed the salt pork for 1/2 lb browned bacon. I tasted them after a cpl hrs and added a little more mustard & ginger. My family all loved them and I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillydee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Not bad, I used bacon instead of diced pork, but everything else on the list remained the same. I did not use a slow cooker, just my dutch oven at 350 until the beans seemed done. They were good, but as the third baked bean recipe I've recently tried I think I lean more to a tomatoy based baked bean such as in the Boston Baked Bean recipe on the site. These were good and I may make again and adjust a little more to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I used the bean from a 15 bean soup mix I had on hand as well as a ham bone from a ham I had baked. I added a can of diced tomatoes as we like those in our beans. It turned out perfect and my kids couldn't get enough of this! Next time I'm making sure to serve it up with some corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This is terrific - if you don't want to to deal with dry beans (or forgot to soak them overnight like I did) you can use 4 cans of unseasoned great northern beans. just rinse them really good and watch the amount of water you add, you won't need quite as much. This was a big hit and definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pmorin217

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
My significant other wanted to try to make home made baked beans, so I found this recipe and gave it to him to make while I was gone for the day. I came home, the house smelled wonderful, and the beans were great. He used 1/2 pkg of smoked bacon cuz that's what we had. Used good quality pure maple syrup, and he didn't change a thing. Cooked for 11 hours on low, then 1/2 hour on high with the lid removed. Yum! Thank you for submitting this recipe! LoL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This was a hit! I used a 1/2 of bacon instead of the salted pork. Cooked in slow cooker on low for 10 hrs and took the lid off the last hr. No problems with the beans having too much liquid. I am moaking again this weekend for another bday party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kerrville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
These were very good. My first attempt at making baked beans, and they were very edible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
If there were 6 stars it would have my vote!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coffeelover2000

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States