Maple Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This is a good recipe, but needs something to make it excellent. I think less sugar and the addition of maple syrup would help. I also think a topping of some sort would give it the oomph it needs. I don't know that I'll try this one again. I froze a loaf and will see how well it does out of the freezer. *Update-I changed my rating from a 4 to a 3. I wouldn't make the recipe as stated again. I have never had problems with freezing zucchini bread, and this one came out very crumbly. DH normally loves my bread, and he didn't want any extra slices of this. This recipe is OK as written; however, I read Sarah Jo's review, and I think all her changes might improve it quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This recipe is delicious, perfectly moist, and also adapts very well to gluten free ingredients. I used 2 1/4 Cups rice flour instead of the all-purpose, and (like another reviewer), used oats instead of wheat germ. We are maple lovers in this house, so this will get made often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Very good. Friends and family love it too! One small change I have made to the recipe is to use a few tablespoons of real maple syrup and cut back on the sugar - 3/4 c. each white and brown sugar, instead of one cup of each. The maple flavour is still subtle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
This is the best! recipe but it's even better if you sprinkle white sesame seeds on top before you put it in the oven! Nice, nutty flavor and crunchy texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah
Home Town: Franklin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
wonderful recipe, I've made it twice now and everyone loves it.... Shared it and my mother has also love it. thanks,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillemap@gmail.com

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chefchristabug
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I thought this was a delightful recipe. I thought the flavor was wonderful and it turned out very moist!! I will definitely keep this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefchristabug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Veryy Sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Delicious! The bread was moist and had a mild maple flavor. I only had two tablespoons of sesame seeds, so I added sunflower and pumpkin seeds to make a third of a cup to sprinkle on the top. This turned out to be tasty and attractive. I will make this again. It will be wonderful in the fall too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Husband and kids all loved it. I didn't have wheat germ and used oatmeal instead. I could see how some would comment that it tasted like bad pancakes - I think if you had really high quality maple extract it would be particularly good (I just would have no idea where to get that) - maybe one could tray using real maple syrup?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I cut the sugars back by half, used oatmeal instead of wheat germ (tight budget right now, I don't have extra money for ingredients I don't have on hand--I just ran the old fashioned oats through the food processor for a finer consistancy) and I flip-flopped the baking powder/baking soda amounts. I made muffins out of this recipe. Right before baking, I sprinkled each muffin mound with a cinnamon-sugar mixture. I was able to get 12 big muffins out of one recipe. Baked at 350*, they were done at exactly 22 minutes. Not only do they smell amazing, they taste fantastic. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States