Maple Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LINDALOU2002
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
A nice bread! I personally would add a bit more salt and more maple to up the flavor. I also want to add that if you are having trouble with your wheat breads rising try adding in some Vital Wheat Gluten Flour, it's available in most grocery stores in the baking aisle. In this recipe I replaced 1/4 cup of white flour with the wheat gluten and I got a lovely loaf of bread. With using the Vital Wheat Gluten Flour I have success with even true 100% whole wheat breads. I also prefer to bake my bread in my oven. I use the dough cycle on bread machine and remove dough and knead a few times, maybe 10, on a floured board, shape and place in a greased bread pan. Let rise, check every 10-15 minutes until desired height. Bake in a 350 degree oven for 20-25 minutes or until golden brown and loaf sounds hollow when tapped. If you can resist ;) let bread cool a bit before slicing or the loaf gets kinda squished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
I used 2 cups whole wheat flour, 1/2 c rolled oats and 1/2 c bread flour. I also used 3/4 c apple juice and 1/2 c water instead of 1 1/4 c water because we tend to like our bread sweeter. The bread is a touch moist, but has a great texture and is VERY tasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I was getting tired of the dense bread that I was getting from my breadmaker, until I tried this recipe. Such a lovely soft texture, perfect for P&J sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This is a very nicely flavored loaf. A little fluff, good crumb, just a great recipe for an everyday loaf. Only thing I did different was use melted butter because I am all out of oil. I used my Kitchen Aid from beginning to end. I warmed my maple syrup with the water to the right temp to proof with my yeast in my mixer bowl. After ten minutes, I added the melted butter, then all the dry ingredients. I had to add at least another 1/4 c. of flour, but that's only because I think the weather was wetter. I kneaded with my bread hook for about five minutes or so, then set in a large greased bowl covered with saran wrap and a towel on a warm oven to rise for an hour. After it had doubled, I pounded it down and shaped into a loaf and set it to rise in an xl loaf pan for a half hour or so. I baked it at 350* for about 40 minutes. I don't usually time bread as I've gotten to know about when it smells ready. Very good bread. This one is going to be made regularly. I love how the flavor fools you a bit, because even though you know it's maple.....you still think it might be something else. This would be a great base for cinnamon bread. NOTE: This is even better the next day, warmed a bit, slathered in butter and drizzled with real maple syrup. Pure heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
There should not be more wheat flour than bread flour if you want your bread to rise more. Too much wheat flour is what makes bread so dense. Try adjusting the flour if your complaint is the density.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This has become our new basic homemade bread. I vary the amount of maple syrup based on the grade of syrup I currently have on hand. It is very easy to cut into sandwhich sized slices and my husband loves it for his breakfast sandwhich before work. I mix it in the bread machine and bake it in the oven as other reviewers have suggested, most breads fall in my bread machine if I bake them in it, so it is pretty standard for me to use it just for mixing anyway. The recipe is so simple I memorized it after just a few times of baking it so I can easily make it a couple of times a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
SO good...with modifications. The lack of salt in this recipe could be to blame for all the problems other reviewers have had with the bread being dense, not rising or falling. I increased the salt to 1 tsp. I also reduced the liquid to 1 cup and used milk instead of water. When the beep sounded on my breadmaker I added chopped almonds. Delicious!! Fluffy, just sweet enough, and makes a killer egg salad sandwich the next day! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
This bread had a great maple taste and a spongy texture. However, I've tried making it twice - the second time with more yeast and both times I've ended up with a short, dense loaf. I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
There is too much wheat flour in the recipe and not enough white flour.. Also too much water.. 1 cup of water is all that is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Paisley, Renfrewshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This bread was excellent! I'm not sure why some reviewers thought it was so dense. I've baked numerous whole wheat loaves over the years and this is one of the lightest versions I've ever made. I usually bake all of my bread by hand, reserving the bread machine for when I'm feeling truly lazy or pressed for time, but I did this whole recipe in the bread machine and it did not disappoint! This is one of our new favorites! Please don't omit the bread flour (not all-purpose). I think it really adds to the great texture of this bread. I did do as another reviewer suggested and substituted 1/2 cup of rolled oats for 1/2 cup of the whole wheat flour. The only other change I made was to substitute safflower oil for most of the olive oil, since I ran out of the latter. My other half loved it, saying it reminded him exactly of a certain bread he used to buy when he was in college.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cactus Kim's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States