Maple Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
not bad- but the consistency is more of a cake than of a bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Best whole wheat bread I have ever had. Used butter instead of oil and added 4 tsp of Vital Wheat Gluten. Loaf was lite and air. I will add 1/2 tsp of Vanilla next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Don't remember?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Sonnenberg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Farmington, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This is a nice moist, tasty loaf that's not too sweet. As a vegan I appreciate that there's no honey, butter, or milk required and using pure maple syrup (not the high fructose corn syrup flavored like syrup) as a sweetener instead of white sugar is a bonus. You could also substitute agave. I will make this again for sure -- my kids loved it toasted with jam and peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I agree with the reviewers who said this bread is too wet. I've made it twice now, thinking the goopy inside was just a fluke the first time, but it happened again the second time. I do like the simplicity and the maple flavor of this healthy bread, so I will give it ONE more shot with less water and hope for the best. Also, I upped the salt to 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Mmm this was very good! Only problem I have with whole wheat breads is that they don't rise as much as I would like them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole & Ray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This bread was excellent! I'm not sure why some reviewers thought it was so dense. I've baked numerous whole wheat loaves over the years and this is one of the lightest versions I've ever made. I usually bake all of my bread by hand, reserving the bread machine for when I'm feeling truly lazy or pressed for time, but I did this whole recipe in the bread machine and it did not disappoint! This is one of our new favorites! Please don't omit the bread flour (not all-purpose). I think it really adds to the great texture of this bread. I did do as another reviewer suggested and substituted 1/2 cup of rolled oats for 1/2 cup of the whole wheat flour. The only other change I made was to substitute safflower oil for most of the olive oil, since I ran out of the latter. My other half loved it, saying it reminded him exactly of a certain bread he used to buy when he was in college.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cactus Kim's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This bread is so soft and moist. The maple flavour is not there but it does add a touch of sweetness without using refind sugar. I used all 100% organic flour, this recipe does not need white flour to make it light. I mixed the dough in my bread machine and then placed the mixed dough in my bread pan to rise again for about 40 minutes. It baked up light anf fluffy, so yummy right out of the oven. This is our favorite bread now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Came out Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
SO good...with modifications. The lack of salt in this recipe could be to blame for all the problems other reviewers have had with the bread being dense, not rising or falling. I increased the salt to 1 tsp. I also reduced the liquid to 1 cup and used milk instead of water. When the beep sounded on my breadmaker I added chopped almonds. Delicious!! Fluffy, just sweet enough, and makes a killer egg salad sandwich the next day! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States