Maple Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I was getting tired of the dense bread that I was getting from my breadmaker, until I tried this recipe. Such a lovely soft texture, perfect for P&J sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This has become our new basic homemade bread. I vary the amount of maple syrup based on the grade of syrup I currently have on hand. It is very easy to cut into sandwhich sized slices and my husband loves it for his breakfast sandwhich before work. I mix it in the bread machine and bake it in the oven as other reviewers have suggested, most breads fall in my bread machine if I bake them in it, so it is pretty standard for me to use it just for mixing anyway. The recipe is so simple I memorized it after just a few times of baking it so I can easily make it a couple of times a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This is a very nicely flavored loaf. A little fluff, good crumb, just a great recipe for an everyday loaf. Only thing I did different was use melted butter because I am all out of oil. I used my Kitchen Aid from beginning to end. I warmed my maple syrup with the water to the right temp to proof with my yeast in my mixer bowl. After ten minutes, I added the melted butter, then all the dry ingredients. I had to add at least another 1/4 c. of flour, but that's only because I think the weather was wetter. I kneaded with my bread hook for about five minutes or so, then set in a large greased bowl covered with saran wrap and a towel on a warm oven to rise for an hour. After it had doubled, I pounded it down and shaped into a loaf and set it to rise in an xl loaf pan for a half hour or so. I baked it at 350* for about 40 minutes. I don't usually time bread as I've gotten to know about when it smells ready. Very good bread. This one is going to be made regularly. I love how the flavor fools you a bit, because even though you know it's maple.....you still think it might be something else. This would be a great base for cinnamon bread. NOTE: This is even better the next day, warmed a bit, slathered in butter and drizzled with real maple syrup. Pure heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Based on Tat2's review I decided to make this bread. I followed the recipe, but I only used 1 cup of water since it is very humid here today. It baked up beautifully. We made BLTs with garden fresh produce and my DD commented that she thought I had bought the bread at the bakery. I also did not use a bread machine. And I slso will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Fantastic! We loved the recipe. We actually bought maple ham to make sandwiches! I added approx 1/8-1/4 more flour as it mixed. I also did not have bread flour, so I used all purpose flour with a tsp of gluten. The bread has a nice texture, rose nicely, and has a light taste. My husband really liked the bread (and he does not like anything that could be healhty) and he ate most of it before I got home from shool :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandraD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This is our daily bread! It is a HUGE hit and nobody wants store bought bread anymore!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KnitGoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
This was real good and I made 1 bread,some dinner rolls and added some honey. I will make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bucket of cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This bread is is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tmolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
I have to say it was good, even up here at 8,888 feet! All I did was increase the salt to 1 tsp. which inhibits the yeast a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crested Butte, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by litgirl24
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This was my first time making bread in my new bread machine, and this recipe was a fantastic way to begin. Following reviewer, vo0do0's suggestion, I used 1/2 cup quick oats, 3/4 cup apple cider and 1/2 c water instead of 1 1/4 cups water; and, following reviewer, BrittBliss's suggestion, I used 1 cup of Bread Flour (to increase height), and 1- 1/2 cups Whole Wheat flour. I also used 6 Tablespoons of high grade Maple Syrup, and added 1/4 cup of ground flax seeds. The bread has a slightly crunchy and definitely chewy crust and is wonderfully soft and fluffy inside! Perfect for sandwiches, or toasted or even alone! I ate it toasted with an egg on top. Excellent - eggcellent ;) -! The apple cider made it sweeter, and added flavor so it's a savory sweet bread -- but not too sweet. Though, I imagine it'd be great for French Toast. It's an awesome recipe. Thank you, Envision, and other reviewers! :) Update: I've made this bread 6 times now, and everyone who eats it, loves it! It's a staple now. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by litgirl24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montague, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States