Maple Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This is a very nicely flavored loaf. A little fluff, good crumb, just a great recipe for an everyday loaf. Only thing I did different was use melted butter because I am all out of oil. I used my Kitchen Aid from beginning to end. I warmed my maple syrup with the water to the right temp to proof with my yeast in my mixer bowl. After ten minutes, I added the melted butter, then all the dry ingredients. I had to add at least another 1/4 c. of flour, but that's only because I think the weather was wetter. I kneaded with my bread hook for about five minutes or so, then set in a large greased bowl covered with saran wrap and a towel on a warm oven to rise for an hour. After it had doubled, I pounded it down and shaped into a loaf and set it to rise in an xl loaf pan for a half hour or so. I baked it at 350* for about 40 minutes. I don't usually time bread as I've gotten to know about when it smells ready. Very good bread. This one is going to be made regularly. I love how the flavor fools you a bit, because even though you know it's maple.....you still think it might be something else. This would be a great base for cinnamon bread. NOTE: This is even better the next day, warmed a bit, slathered in butter and drizzled with real maple syrup. Pure heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by litgirl24
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This was my first time making bread in my new bread machine, and this recipe was a fantastic way to begin. Following reviewer, vo0do0's suggestion, I used 1/2 cup quick oats, 3/4 cup apple cider and 1/2 c water instead of 1 1/4 cups water; and, following reviewer, BrittBliss's suggestion, I used 1 cup of Bread Flour (to increase height), and 1- 1/2 cups Whole Wheat flour. I also used 6 Tablespoons of high grade Maple Syrup, and added 1/4 cup of ground flax seeds. The bread has a slightly crunchy and definitely chewy crust and is wonderfully soft and fluffy inside! Perfect for sandwiches, or toasted or even alone! I ate it toasted with an egg on top. Excellent - eggcellent ;) -! The apple cider made it sweeter, and added flavor so it's a savory sweet bread -- but not too sweet. Though, I imagine it'd be great for French Toast. It's an awesome recipe. Thank you, Envision, and other reviewers! :) Update: I've made this bread 6 times now, and everyone who eats it, loves it! It's a staple now. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by litgirl24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This has become our new basic homemade bread. I vary the amount of maple syrup based on the grade of syrup I currently have on hand. It is very easy to cut into sandwhich sized slices and my husband loves it for his breakfast sandwhich before work. I mix it in the bread machine and bake it in the oven as other reviewers have suggested, most breads fall in my bread machine if I bake them in it, so it is pretty standard for me to use it just for mixing anyway. The recipe is so simple I memorized it after just a few times of baking it so I can easily make it a couple of times a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I was getting tired of the dense bread that I was getting from my breadmaker, until I tried this recipe. Such a lovely soft texture, perfect for P&J sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Based on Tat2's review I decided to make this bread. I followed the recipe, but I only used 1 cup of water since it is very humid here today. It baked up beautifully. We made BLTs with garden fresh produce and my DD commented that she thought I had bought the bread at the bakery. I also did not use a bread machine. And I slso will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Fantastic! We loved the recipe. We actually bought maple ham to make sandwiches! I added approx 1/8-1/4 more flour as it mixed. I also did not have bread flour, so I used all purpose flour with a tsp of gluten. The bread has a nice texture, rose nicely, and has a light taste. My husband really liked the bread (and he does not like anything that could be healhty) and he ate most of it before I got home from shool :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandraD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
This was real good and I made 1 bread,some dinner rolls and added some honey. I will make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bucket of cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This bread is is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tmolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
I have to say it was good, even up here at 8,888 feet! All I did was increase the salt to 1 tsp. which inhibits the yeast a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crested Butte, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This is our daily bread! It is a HUGE hit and nobody wants store bought bread anymore!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KnitGoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States