Maple Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I was hoping for more maple taste. This turned out for me to basically just be a loaf of whole wheat bread. Maybe next time I'll try more maple or pure maple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I prefer "Dark Amber" Maple Syrup for a stronger "maple" flavor, ie, a more "robust" syrup !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LINDALOU2002
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
A nice bread! I personally would add a bit more salt and more maple to up the flavor. I also want to add that if you are having trouble with your wheat breads rising try adding in some Vital Wheat Gluten Flour, it's available in most grocery stores in the baking aisle. In this recipe I replaced 1/4 cup of white flour with the wheat gluten and I got a lovely loaf of bread. With using the Vital Wheat Gluten Flour I have success with even true 100% whole wheat breads. I also prefer to bake my bread in my oven. I use the dough cycle on bread machine and remove dough and knead a few times, maybe 10, on a floured board, shape and place in a greased bread pan. Let rise, check every 10-15 minutes until desired height. Bake in a 350 degree oven for 20-25 minutes or until golden brown and loaf sounds hollow when tapped. If you can resist ;) let bread cool a bit before slicing or the loaf gets kinda squished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
I used 2 cups whole wheat flour, 1/2 c rolled oats and 1/2 c bread flour. I also used 3/4 c apple juice and 1/2 c water instead of 1 1/4 c water because we tend to like our bread sweeter. The bread is a touch moist, but has a great texture and is VERY tasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
There is too much wheat flour in the recipe and not enough white flour.. Also too much water.. 1 cup of water is all that is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Paisley, Renfrewshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
There should not be more wheat flour than bread flour if you want your bread to rise more. Too much wheat flour is what makes bread so dense. Try adjusting the flour if your complaint is the density.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
it didn't rise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Not bad, might make it just as a dough and try to make buns out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
My biggest complaint about this bread is how bland it tasted to me.The next time I make this I'll add 1 tsp. of salt.But even with it being bland I couldn't detect any maple syrup taste at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
good stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Master chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States