Maple Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I have tried about a dozen different whole wheat recipes and this one has the best texture. It is light and moist and stays fresh longer. I make 2 different variations. One I add 6 Tbs sun flower seeds, 4 Tbs flax seeds and 2 Tbs oats. In the other I add 3/4 Cup chopped walnuts, 2Tbs poppy seeds, 3Tbs flax seeds and enough fun flower seeds to bring it to 1 1/4 cups nuts. Both variations are excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I loved this bread, made it with Mrs Butterworths syrup but I do think it would be better with real Maple Syrup. I will up the syrup next time if I don't have the real stuff again. But was wonderful, looks great and taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
A SUPERIOR LOAF!!! I followed the directions exactly and it turned out great!!!! MUST USE REAL MAPLE SYRUP!!!! I can't imagine anyone actually using an artificially flavored syrup, the purist in me requires me to say this!! Did turn out light as opposed to other WW breads. Will make again and again, will be a home counter staple!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I made this the first time last night in my breadmaker. Usually wheat bread in the breadmaker comes out really dense and heavy. This one came out perfect. I am eating it right now and absolutely love it. VERY IMPRESSED with this recipe. I love the fact it doesn't have alot of ingredients making it quick to throw in the breadmaker pan. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Absolutely delicious. I used my machine's wheat cycle with light crust setting and it came out well. No changes to the recipe. It does not have a "maple" flavor, just a simple wheat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wat2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Fantastic! We loved the recipe. We actually bought maple ham to make sandwiches! I added approx 1/8-1/4 more flour as it mixed. I also did not have bread flour, so I used all purpose flour with a tsp of gluten. The bread has a nice texture, rose nicely, and has a light taste. My husband really liked the bread (and he does not like anything that could be healhty) and he ate most of it before I got home from shool :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandraD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Based on Tat2's review I decided to make this bread. I followed the recipe, but I only used 1 cup of water since it is very humid here today. It baked up beautifully. We made BLTs with garden fresh produce and my DD commented that she thought I had bought the bread at the bakery. I also did not use a bread machine. And I slso will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This is a very nicely flavored loaf. A little fluff, good crumb, just a great recipe for an everyday loaf. Only thing I did different was use melted butter because I am all out of oil. I used my Kitchen Aid from beginning to end. I warmed my maple syrup with the water to the right temp to proof with my yeast in my mixer bowl. After ten minutes, I added the melted butter, then all the dry ingredients. I had to add at least another 1/4 c. of flour, but that's only because I think the weather was wetter. I kneaded with my bread hook for about five minutes or so, then set in a large greased bowl covered with saran wrap and a towel on a warm oven to rise for an hour. After it had doubled, I pounded it down and shaped into a loaf and set it to rise in an xl loaf pan for a half hour or so. I baked it at 350* for about 40 minutes. I don't usually time bread as I've gotten to know about when it smells ready. Very good bread. This one is going to be made regularly. I love how the flavor fools you a bit, because even though you know it's maple.....you still think it might be something else. This would be a great base for cinnamon bread. NOTE: This is even better the next day, warmed a bit, slathered in butter and drizzled with real maple syrup. Pure heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This is our daily bread! It is a HUGE hit and nobody wants store bought bread anymore!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KnitGoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Very tasty loaf, I cooked in the oven and changed the recipe a little by using the 2c wheat and 1c bread flour and I also used 1/2t of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States