Maple Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I gave this bread 4 out of 5 because it is good but I did make a few changes. I only used 1 cup of water, increased the salt to 1/2 teaspoon and added 4 teaspoons wheat gluten to help it rise more and not have such a heavy loaf. Next time I will increase the salt to 1 teaspoon and maybe even add a little more maple syrup. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Not so good for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharliGurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bitzie
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I used all whole wheat flour and canola oil. Excellant flavor and texture and it raised nicely until it began to bake it sunk in the middle. Looked like a bread bowl when it finished baking. I've used a bread machine for many years and I've never had anything like this happen. I'm not sure why this happened. Does anyone know?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bitzie
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Great bread! Dense, chewy, perfect. I would definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
The best bread I have made so far. I am going to try baking it in the oven next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This is delicious! I have tried lots of bread recipies from this site and I think this one is a new favorite. I wasn't sure about giving it a try because of the mixed reviews, but it was well worth it. Followed the recipe except increased salt to 1 tsp, increased maple syrup to 6T and kept the flour ratios the same. Made on the dough cycle of my bread machine and baked in the oven at 350 for 35 - 40 min. The loaf rose well, even without the addition of any dough enhancer. Maple flavor wasn't overpowering at all, but you could tell it was an ingredient. It went well with the pot roast and veggies I made for dinner. I will definitely make this again! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I made these changes based on reviews: 1 teaspoon salt 2 cups whole wheat flour 1 cup bread flour. The result was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I thought this bread was ok. Rose to the top of the bread machine. Maple flavor not overpowering. I agree with other reviewers who described the bread as lighter in texture or having more "fluff" which is probably why I wouldn't make it again. I found that the bread tore when I tried to spread cold butter on it, even when I had shaved off very thin pieces of butter. I much prefer the Buttermilk Honey Wheat Bread from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This turned out soft and flavor was ok, just a little dry though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Park Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Absolutely Wonderful. I have never ever ever ever had a "Bread Machine" receipe in which the bread turned out sooooooo light and airy. This is great. I used 6 tabl. of maple syrup and this is still a very light maple flavoring. Loved this receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States