Maple Walnut Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Delicious! My husband and I love these. (The kids don't like nuts so didn't try them) The first time I made them, the walnuts looked and smelled burnt but I used most of them anyway. Great flavor! The second time, I baked them less time and the nut flavor was not as bold or noticeable. I did use real maple syrup as someone suggested instead of the extract. It make the drizzle frosting very sweet but very good on the scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Cullum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Absolutely delish! Definitely a no brainer. I will be making this one time and time again. Changes: pecans instead of walnuts (good choice), 3/4 c oatmeal (but don't decrease the amount of flour at all, you need it!), and 1% milk instead of half and half. I found I only needed to bake them for 15min. The glaze was mildly disappointing as it didn't turn out like a thick icing in the picture. I guess I was hoping for that. Next time I'll use less water to get that consistency. Everyone loved these and gobbled them up right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
MY SCONES CAME OUT DRY AND CRUMBLY. IT MAY BE BECAUSE MY BAKING POWDER WAS OLD. I WILL TRY AGAIN WITH FRESH BAKING POWDER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Although tasty (due to the amount of walnuts) the final result was dry and crumbly. I wouldn't try this recipe again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rio De Janeiro, Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookie Diva
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This is the first time I've made scones and now I'm hooked! I didn't have any maple extract so I used 2 T. of maple syrup. I also used maple syrup in the glaze. I patted the dough out to about 1" and cut out heart-shaped scones. This recipe made 16 scones. Delicious and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canoga Park, California, USA
Living In: Encino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I've never had a scone before, so I'm not sure how to rate them. But, my whole fam enjoyed them and they made a great breakfast! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pbfanRach

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
These have to be the best baked scones I've ever had, though I admit to substituting hazelnut flavoring for maple since I was out of maple. The texture of the dough is perfect for forming and cutting, and the final result is a moist, delicious, non-crumbly scone. My new favorite weekend breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I've made these twice. The first time I used whole milk and pecans instead of walnuts, and they were great. The second time I used almond milk instead of half and half, and substituted 1/3 the sugar with erithritol. No one could tell any difference, they were just as great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Amazing recipe! I used two tablespoons of maple syrup in the scone recipe, and they turned out wonderful. I think next time, I'll just mix the powdered sugar and some maple syrup together for the icing. As it is, it was nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBOITX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Just to comment and this might help. The scones should not be crumbly. This is why I do not grate the butter. If you put the dough together with some of the butter in small pieces (not all), the butter will melt in baking and create a moist scone. One other thin, if you have the dough out longer than ezpected, put in the refrigerator again. That way the butter isn't all melted when you go to bake them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States