Maple Walnut Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
they were tasty but i may have done something wrong, the dough was very gooey and i definitely lost the triangular shape when trying to transfer them to the pan. i didn't even need a rolling pin; since the dough was so soft i was able to pat it down by hand into a circle before cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I used real maple syrup instead of the extract, so the maple flavor was a bit fainter, but I also added crystalized ginger bits and put in pecans instead of walnuts. I love a recipe that whisks instead of sifts, and uses half and half instead of heavy cream! I never knew I wasn't the only one...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
These scones are awesome! If you are a scone lover you must try these. As others have said. Make sure your butter stays cold, I often refrigerate my dough before baking it. If your butter does not remain cold (and chunky) your scones won't turn out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodburn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This was so easy and so delicious! Friends and family amazed at how much better these were than ones we've bought locally. I also used a dark, wonderful, real maple syrup instead of maple flavoring. I just loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
So good. I made the recipe exactly as stated except I used a food processor instead of the pastry blender for ease in combining the butter and flour mixture. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
fantastic. i used maple syrop and the flavor was great. texture was just right - not dry and crumbly - instead it s chewy and soft. I was pleasantly surprised, as the scones didn't brown much in the oven and i was concerned they are under-baked. But they were perfect! I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowcat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
These are just plain good. Made as written but made another half recipe of the glaze as I wanted them with a tiny bit more frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
My husband made these and they were fantastic! We didn't have any maple extract, so he used 2 tbs. of real maple syrup instead (maple flavor could have been stronger, but it was nice this way. maybe we'll try adding more next time??). If you don't have a pastry blender, just "pinch" cold butter chunks into the dry mixture until all the dry ingredients are moistened. Don't add more ingredients, just keep pinching.... (make sure you use unsalted butter, otherwise eliminate salt in the ingredients). Our batter was really sticky, so we covered and chilled it for longer, (about 45min) and that helped to roll it out. We made the glaze and just barely drizzled it on- not too sweet, but just sweet enough. Also good with chocolate chip add ons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Antwerpianer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I made this exactly as is, except for the glaze I followed the suggestions of others and mixed 2 tablespoons of maple syrup with confectioner's sugar and then added some cinnamon and vanilla extract. These are amazing! I will be making them again - and soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Delicious! My husband and I love these. (The kids don't like nuts so didn't try them) The first time I made them, the walnuts looked and smelled burnt but I used most of them anyway. Great flavor! The second time, I baked them less time and the nut flavor was not as bold or noticeable. I did use real maple syrup as someone suggested instead of the extract. It make the drizzle frosting very sweet but very good on the scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States