Maple Walnut Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Lovely maple scones! I made just a few adjustments, two for preference, the last to quicken the process. I used heavy cream in place of the half & half, 2 Tbsp. Real Maple Syrup instead of the extract, and finally, cut the butter down to 4 Tbsp. I've found when using more than a quarter cup of butter in scones (at least for 8 of them) the dough gets too "wet" to work with comfortably, and a slightly drier dough can be shaped and cut immediately (no refrigeration time!) My scones came out beautifully, and I used Jillian's suggestion for a glaze mixture: the combination was HEAVENLY! My husband is a VERY happy boy today; thanks so much for sharing this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie O'Leary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Love them, this is the second time I have made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovin it

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
These were delicious and very easy to make. I substituted pecans instead of walnuts, 2% milk instead of half and half and 2Tbsp maple syrup instead of extract, simply because that's what I had. I used a pastry brush to apply the glaze over the entire scone. I would definitely make them again. Thank you for sharing the recipe, Sandie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
These are so yummy!!! I am usually not a fan of scones, but this recipe makes wonderfully moist and delicious scones! I did have to add a bit more half and half. The recipe does state to combine until it resembles fine crumbs, but after watching a video for scones that suggested that the dough should be handled gently, leaving some of the butter in larger chunks helps to make a more moist scone, I took that suggestion. I first shaped the dough into a rectangle and sprinkled with cinnamon sugar, then folded the dough over, patted it down gently and then shaped into a circle for cutting. Instead of adding walnuts to the dough, I topped some of the triangles with maple glazed sliced almonds (some in my family do not like nuts) after brushing each triangle with maple syrup. I then sprinkled each with cinnamon sugar. Baked in 325 degree oven for 20 minutes. This is a must try scone recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Very good! Made a few changes, based on the ingred. I had on hand. Used about a half cup chopped pecans in place of walnuts, half sour cream and half milk for the half-n-half, and I doubled the glaze, as we really liked it. Delicious, and the little ones ate them up! Very easy, and they don't take much time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Very solid recipe. Easy to follow and delicious! I made this with candied walnuts and had to substitute maple syrup for the extract. I can't even imagine the flavor with actual extract, yum! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I didn't have walnuts, used about 1/3 cup nonfat vanilla yogurt instead of half and half, skipped vanilla, used about 2 TB. Vermont Maid Syrup, and made these like drop biscuits and found they cook best in a glass or pyrex pan. I also skipped the glaze and these are perfect. These will be regularly baked in my house !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Hill Burbine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
The scone had a good flavor to it, but the texture was a little off for me. I made it as written, and refrigerated for the 10 minutes. The finished product was a little drier than other scones I've made. I really enjoy the taste of maple, so I'm going to give this another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Delicious and easy to make. The icing left a little to be desired--too runny. When I make them again, I think I will add more maple flavoring and I will experiment with the icing--maybe just confectioner's sugar and maple syrup . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States