Maple Walnut Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mom of  Two
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I bought all the ingredients with full intentions of making this and taking it to my sisters for Thanksgiving but after talking to her we decided to eliminate it because we had too many desserts coming. I made it for our weekly family dinner instead. The request has been made to make it for Thanksgiving! This was absolutely delicious, if it wasn't for my daughter not liking the nut part I would never make a plain pumpkin pie again. This was great, don't hestitate make this one. I used Fat Free Eagle brand sweet and condensed milk, I baked it an extra 10 mins before adding topping it seemed too watery in the middle. I'm not sure if that anything to do with the fat free or not but it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I made this to take to my sister-in-laws Thanksgiving dinner. There were probably a dozen other desserts there - and this pie dissapeared in minutes. Rave reviews from everyone - and my husband complained that there wasn't any left for him to take home. I'm making it again for our Christmas dinner - much to my husband's delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This was the first pie I've ever baked! It was fast, fool-proof and my fiancee and I loved it! It was pumpkin heavan with a maple-nutty hint. Perfection for fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This is such a great little spin on traditional pumpkin pie. This recipe is perfect for first-time bakers, if my husband can do it, anyone can! :) My husband is gluten intolerant, so instead of graham crackers for the crust, I used about 30 gluten-free animal cookies with about 3 TBL of butter and a little less then a quarter of a cup of sugar, then refrigerated it for a few minutes to set the butter while I was making the pie mixture. We baked it as directed and then for the topping, I substituted corn starch for the flour. It turned out so amazing! My husband doesn't usually get to indulge in holiday treats, so he was very grateful and we (not even myself) never missed the gluten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daisy Mae
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Made this pie to take to work--followed directions exactly and got rave reviews. I thought it was very good just the way it is, but I like to experiment, so when I made this for Thanksgiving dinner I made a few changes. I didn't use a graham cracker crust, I made a flaky pie crust. I also used the reduced fat Eagle Brand sweetened condensed milk, 3 tablespoons of PURE maple syrup, 2 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice and fresh pumpkin. For the topping I used 3/4 cup of chopped walnuts as the half of cup seemed to be lost in the topping. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
This is an excellent pie. I don't like ginger so I didn't use any and it tasted great. I won't replace my traditional pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving with this, but I'll make it again. It's an excellent Fall/Winter pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I made this pie tonight. I thought it was ok the topping is what sets this pie apart from any other pumpkin pie I have made. You have to be careful applying the crumb topping so as to not disturb the pumpkin filling. I flattened the topping in my hands and placed it on top then as it started to melt I could fill in the open spots. This pie is between 3.5 and 4 stars for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This was so creamy and rich a delight. I only wish I had added just a little more butter to the topping. I am still eating it five days later...it keeps very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This pie won my Mom first place at our Fall Festival. Yum Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Super sweet, super scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States