Maple Walnut Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
The first time I made this recipe I followed the instructions as directed. I felt that I had to put the pie back in for an additional 20 minutes at 325 degrees. Also the first 15 minutes at 425 degrees turned the top of the pie darker brown which wont matter if your going to put the topping on but if you decided you dont want the topping the color was not attractive. The second time I make this recipe I'll almost double all the spices and added 2 tbs of Brown sugar and flour to the mix. I'm not a fan of custurdy pies, I like my pie consistancy a little less creamy. Probably bake it longer at a lower temprature, but thats just because of my prefrence to the consistancy. All in all a good recipe I will make again with the few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Wow this recipe turned out delicious! It was a big hit for Thanks Giving! I was really surprised at how tasty it was! I used homemade pumpkin pure so I'm not sure if that made a difference or not but it was so good it was all gone in 5 minutes. I will definitely makes this pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I am not a huge fan of pumpkin pie but THIS pumpkin pie is fantastic! I made it pretty much as written, I added one tsp cinnamon to the mix and a little bit of cloves. The Canadian cans of pumpkin are a little larger and the sweetenened milk a little smaller, perfect results. This is now the only pumpkin pie recipe I will make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
wonderful. tastes even better cold
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Wonderful recipe, quick no mess tasty dessert. My family loved this....added one cup walnuts and tsp pure Canadian Mapel syrup. Next time will not use higher temperature initially, bottom crust a little over cooked .....no one really noticed but me, just not my preference....also cover the the upper outer crust with foil or it will burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This is good but may disappoint if you're looking for a really traditional tasting pumpkin pie. The pumpkin flavor is somewhat overwhelmed by a combination of the crumb topping and the crust. I did not use walnuts in the topping because my mom & sister cannot eat whole or chopped nuts due to an intestinal disorder and I don't think it lost much that way. I used three tablespoons of real maple syrup in place of the maple flavoring but I think it needs quite a bit more for the maple flavor to break through all the other flavors going in this pie. I also added 1/4 tsp cloves. All-in-all a very easy pie to make, very fast prep and would be a nice alternative to real pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This was the hit of our Christmas dinner. I followed the directions exactly, and used the Graham Cracker Crust I recipe from this site (without the optional cinnamon, and using digestive biscuits instead of graham crackers, which are not available here). My guests said this was "wicked", and I'd have to agree. It was fabulous! I'm sure I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Colmenarejo, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I'll never make a traditional pumpkin pie again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I liked the way this jazzes up pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Wow!!! I made this for Thanksgiving and EVERYONE said it was the BEST pumpkin pie they ever had! I tried it bc I saw a review that said this pie one first prize! It definately deserves 1st place! So easy and so yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States