Maple Walnut Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Wonderful recipe, quick no mess tasty dessert. My family loved this....added one cup walnuts and tsp pure Canadian Mapel syrup. Next time will not use higher temperature initially, bottom crust a little over cooked .....no one really noticed but me, just not my preference....also cover the the upper outer crust with foil or it will burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This is good but may disappoint if you're looking for a really traditional tasting pumpkin pie. The pumpkin flavor is somewhat overwhelmed by a combination of the crumb topping and the crust. I did not use walnuts in the topping because my mom & sister cannot eat whole or chopped nuts due to an intestinal disorder and I don't think it lost much that way. I used three tablespoons of real maple syrup in place of the maple flavoring but I think it needs quite a bit more for the maple flavor to break through all the other flavors going in this pie. I also added 1/4 tsp cloves. All-in-all a very easy pie to make, very fast prep and would be a nice alternative to real pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This was the hit of our Christmas dinner. I followed the directions exactly, and used the Graham Cracker Crust I recipe from this site (without the optional cinnamon, and using digestive biscuits instead of graham crackers, which are not available here). My guests said this was "wicked", and I'd have to agree. It was fabulous! I'm sure I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Colmenarejo, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I'll never make a traditional pumpkin pie again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I liked the way this jazzes up pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Wow!!! I made this for Thanksgiving and EVERYONE said it was the BEST pumpkin pie they ever had! I tried it bc I saw a review that said this pie one first prize! It definately deserves 1st place! So easy and so yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I made this pie and was very good. I did however make a few changes I used a regular pie crust and I did not have walnuts so I used candied pecans which I had from Trader Joe's. I also only had whole wheat flour. The topping came out really good. Overall a nice change from a traditional pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was delicious. I made it for Thanksgiving, and everyone raved about it. Next time, I think I will increase the maple flavoring to 2 tsp. I did have to bake it an extra 10-15 minutes because mine took a while to set in the middle. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
THE BEST PUMPKIN PIE I have ever had!!!!! I used dark brown sugar and a graham cracker pie crust! I also baked it in my toaster oven b/c big oven was full! AMAZING! I'm going to have another piece for breakfast tomorrow!!! ps- Hubby loved it too...said to throw the store bought one out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Collins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
AMAZING! A rich pie for most tastes I guess...but the kind of sweet decadent desert you really can enjoy once a year. The only thing I changed was that I made my own crust instead of getting a graham cracker one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States