Maple Walnut Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I have now made this twice and I will probably never again make traditional pumpkin pie. I do like it best with the traditional crust rather than the graham cracker crust. But if you like your desserts really sweet, go with the graham cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This is almost exactly my pumpkin pie recipe. I use pecans instead of walnuts and I use double the cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg called for here to give it a full, rich taste. I put it in a pie crust that is 1/2 cup graham flour, 3/4 cup AP flour, 1 tablespoon white sugar, 1 stick of butter and 3 tablespoons of ice water. The pie disappears fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
The topping didn't turn out quite right, but this was a very delicious and raved-about pie nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lesismore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This was very yummy but too sweet -- and I like sweet. I would either make the maple filling with no topping or I would make plain filling and make the topping. I wouldn't do it all together again. I also added a little extra spice. Good recipe if you like super duper sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I made this exactly as directed with the graham cracker crust I from this site. It was still pudding- like consistency after the 30 minute bake time. I returned it to oven for another 15 min on 328f
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daisy Mae
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Made this pie to take to work--followed directions exactly and got rave reviews. I thought it was very good just the way it is, but I like to experiment, so when I made this for Thanksgiving dinner I made a few changes. I didn't use a graham cracker crust, I made a flaky pie crust. I also used the reduced fat Eagle Brand sweetened condensed milk, 3 tablespoons of PURE maple syrup, 2 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice and fresh pumpkin. For the topping I used 3/4 cup of chopped walnuts as the half of cup seemed to be lost in the topping. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
More like 4.5, but I digress. Did this with real roasted pumpkin and a homemade graham cracker crust and it turned out great. I would love to find a way to substitute real maple for the imitation (which is all my grocery store has) because the flavor came through as a little artificial. I think with that small change, this attempt could have been much improved. Even still, on the first attempt it won my work's pumpkin pie contest! The topping was a great addition, definitely don't pass on that. Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsSaturdayNight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Croix Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Best pumpkin pie ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
THE CRUCH TOPPING IS A WONDERFUL ADDITION! USED MAPLE SYRUP INSTEAD OF MAPLE FLAVORING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Really awesome pie. The topping adds a great crunchy texture to the custard pie. I made my own plain pie crust instead of the graham cracker, as I felt there was so much "sweet" going on already that a plain crust just worked better for me. Will make over and over again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States