Maple Walnut Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
This pie is excellent! I added more walnuts then it called for and it turned out perfect. My family absolutely loved it and my grandma wants to get the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by trailqueen
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Pecan pie has always been my favorite. This rates right up there! I cut back slightly on the brown sugar and added a cup of coconut. I also chopped the walnuts and turned the oven down a bit half way through baking. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This pie is delicious and very easy to make. I found it to be a little too sweet with the added maple extract, so instead I substituted vanilla extract. I've taken this pie to several family events and it is always a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tina T
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
EVERYONE tried it liked it a lot! Really great recipe, though I used vanilla extract instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Very good pie! Like others suggested, I used vanilla instead of maple extract. And make sure you don't use a sweetened crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bekkah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
DAT loved it and ate 2 pieces the first night. Refrigerate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
This is a great recipe! I altered it slightly to turn it "low-free"! I replaced the brown sugar with brown sugar Splenda, and used a sugar-free pancake syrup for the maple syrup. It really tastes similar to pecan pie to me. (Similar in texture, too) All it needs on top is a dallop of whipped cream and it tastes like perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Good, but not great. All you can taste is the crazy ridiculous amount of maple syrup. Easy and fast, but ultimately forgettable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I have made this a couple of times. I used 1 Tbs bread flour and 1 Tbs wheat flour. The second time I used AP as the recipe states. I also used walnut pieces instead of halves. This is very good. I make the crust using a recipe from this site. The crust I like best is in the "Danish Apple Pie Bars II" recipe. Just make sure to refrigerate the dough before rolling it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Very good but I wonder if it is really necessary to heat the syrup/butter mixture first? I almost ended up with with scrambled eggs untill I waited for the syrup mixture to cool. I think next time I will just melt the butter on its own and proceed as with pecan pie; no need to heat the sugar mix. Also, since I am fortunate to have access to real maple syrup, I didn't use the artificial flavoring, cut back brown sugar to 1/3 cup and still this was too sweet; I will eliminate the brown sugar altogether next time- but there will definately BE a next time- YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Maple Walnut Cranberry Sauce

Maple syrup and walnuts create an amazing cranberry sauce.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States