Maple Walnut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
Just a tip for those disappointed in the weak maple flavor: When baking with maple syrup, it is a good idea to use Grade B syrup, which is stronger flavored and intended for baking or cooking rather than as a table syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I didn't use real maple syrup because artifically flavored-maple syrup has a much stronger maple flavor. I omitted the walnuts and added a crunchy topping (3 tbs. flour, 3 tbs. sugar, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, 2 tbs. chopped pecans) sprinkled over the muffin batter. I added 1/4 cup of sour cream for extra moistness. SO GOOD!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
My whole family loved them! I cut the salt. I added 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and 1 teaspoon vanilla extract. I will definitely be making these again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by galaxyfaraway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2000
It is very easy to make. I think it is a little salty and I cannot really taste the Maple syrup. I will cut the salt by 1/4 teaspoon and add 1/4 cup more of Maple syrup in my next attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
I added 1 mashed very ripe banana to this recipe and the muffins were delicious! The whole family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
These are fantastic muffins. I share the recipe with anyone that tastes them. My husband had a favorite maple walnut muffin we bought at a local store. they were discontinued. These were an instant hit, better than before and to enhance the good nutrition I add raisins. Thaks Allrecipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Although I read the other reviews, I decided to try it without many changes. However,I did add more syrup and less salt. I felt it was bland, but my husband and son, loved it. Go figure. However, next time, I might make some minor changes as suggested in the prior reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
These were delicious but I used Pecans instead of walnuts. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michael J. Wild
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
These weren't the best muffins, but certainly weren't the worst either. They seemed a bit bland. Next time I will add something like nutmeg, or allspice to give it a bit of zip. As previous reviews have stated, the maple flavor is barely noticeable (even when adding an extra 1/4 cup of real maple syrup) I will follow the suggestion of using the more strongly flavored artifical maple syrup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael J. Wild

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
loved them...my hubby liked them too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by afrikeys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple Walnut Cranberry Sauce

Maple syrup and walnuts create an amazing cranberry sauce.

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States