Maple Walnut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Although I read the other reviews, I decided to try it without many changes. However,I did add more syrup and less salt. I felt it was bland, but my husband and son, loved it. Go figure. However, next time, I might make some minor changes as suggested in the prior reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
These were delicious but I used Pecans instead of walnuts. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
My whole family loved them! I cut the salt. I added 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and 1 teaspoon vanilla extract. I will definitely be making these again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by galaxyfaraway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michael J. Wild
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
These weren't the best muffins, but certainly weren't the worst either. They seemed a bit bland. Next time I will add something like nutmeg, or allspice to give it a bit of zip. As previous reviews have stated, the maple flavor is barely noticeable (even when adding an extra 1/4 cup of real maple syrup) I will follow the suggestion of using the more strongly flavored artifical maple syrup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael J. Wild

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Very good! I made quite a few changes to this recipe. First of all I omitted the two eggs (I didn't have any at the moment) and replaced them with one tablespoon of canola oil. I also used whole oat flour which made the muffins very light and fluffy. Last of all, I didn't use the stick of butter because I'm a health food fanatic. They were very soft and moist; thank you submitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Very Yummy! I used whole wheat flour and a banana instead of the walnuts because I didn't have any on hand. These are the first muffins I've made which actually yielded the amount the recipe said it would. And they are big ones too! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I made the recipe as written but baked them (13 minutes at 350) as mini muffins because I am making a basket of minis for a brunch tomorrow. These are my least favorite in the basket because the flavor is too weak. It doesn't taste bad, just kind of boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Great! best muffins I have ever managed to make. Nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
The smell of these muffins baking in my kitchen was enjoyment enough! While this wasn't exactly the recipe I was hoping for (I've been looking to replicate a muffin recipe for quite awhile) it made me forget the one I was looking for! Yummm!! I used artifical maple syrup as well (Log Cabin) and I thought the flavor was perfect. I also thought the amount of salt was fine - but I can understand while some may think it's too much - I personally like salt. Definately one I'll be making many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mexico, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I didn't use real maple syrup because artifically flavored-maple syrup has a much stronger maple flavor. I omitted the walnuts and added a crunchy topping (3 tbs. flour, 3 tbs. sugar, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, 2 tbs. chopped pecans) sprinkled over the muffin batter. I added 1/4 cup of sour cream for extra moistness. SO GOOD!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Maple Walnut Cranberry Sauce

Maple syrup and walnuts create an amazing cranberry sauce.

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States