Maple Walnut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
All my muffin recipes call for 1/2 tsp of salt. I questioned the full tsp but still followed the recipe. I would recommend less salt. Salt should enhance a flavour, not overpower it. Otherwise the taste was good - subtle syrop taste is good, not overpowering. Texture was fine as well. Somehow I only managed to make 10 medium sized muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Beautiful muffin recipe. I did cut the salt back to half a tsp because I had salted butter and upped the walnuts to a full cup. Made 12 full size muffins and 8 mini muffins. To boost the maple flavor I brushed the tops with maple syrup once I took them out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Made this 3 times now and it's definitely a fall favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
My mom really enjoyed this muffin (she's usually not a fan of flour-ry foods). I decided to use a full cup of maple syrup and cut the sugar because other reviewers complained that there was not enough maple flavor. The reason why I rated this a four was because I have not actually tried these myself (cutting on calories) and I am assuming they'd be of four star quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
loved them...my hubby liked them too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by afrikeys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This is a good recipe! It is not very sweet, so it's perfect for me. The only thing was that the maple flavor could be a little stronger. I will put more than 1/2 cup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CytoPanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I'm sure I would've been able to give this 5 stars if I hadn't have modified it. I replaced sugar with blueberry preserves and all-purpose flour with whole wheat, and omitted the walnuts- (also used earth balance buttery spread rather than butter and rice milk instead of regular). I added the crunchy topping suggested by RALWATTAR (3 tbs flour, 3 tbs sugar, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 2 tbs chopped pecans). They tasted great, not too sweet, and were very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
These were delighful! I tweaked the recipe a bit: I used whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose flour, 3/4 artificially flavored buttermaple syrup. Also, I added 1 mashed ripe banana and 1/2 cup raisins along with the chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yayme28

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
My husband I absolutely loved them! They were moist and a wonderful treat. I took the advice of some other reviews as I love a stronger maple taste than the real syrup offers and used the "butter" syrup and they turned out perfect. Definitely will be making these again. Thank you for sharing this recipe. Have been looking for something like this for quite a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by breezyauzette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ocean Shores, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
my daughter's all-time favorite! I only use 1/2 tsp. salt instead of a whole one, omit the butter, use artificial maple syrup, and add 1/4 cup sour cream and 1 tsp maple flavoring. Makes 2 dozen smallish muffins. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple Walnut Cranberry Sauce

Maple syrup and walnuts create an amazing cranberry sauce.

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States