Maple-Vanilla Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Love this recipe. My very picky kids loved it too. It is a good base to creat your own. Added my own spin to it by adding 1/2 tsp sea salt, 1/2 tsp lemon extract, and a pinch of cinnamon. Ooooommmmgggggg!!! I am never buying store bought syrup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Homewood, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Great recipe. I added a little more vanilla to the recipe than it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Instead of 1/2 cup of white sugar I used 1/4 cup of raw sugar to be more natural and less grams of sugar. It's AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
If it is turning into candy... Your cooking it way to long... Longer and hotter you cook it the more risk of this If it boils durning 8 mins could be big reason why... Some don't know what simmer means so.. What means turn the heat down to 3 let it sit just stire ocasionly. Sujust. Let the sugar desolve complety then let it simmer.. Plus maybe cook it 6 mins verse 8.... But if your bring the heat up to high that might not help...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I love this syrup. I added a tablespoon of bourbon and it really was a nice touch. Now I don't have to buy syrup for pancakes or french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
The first time I made it it crystallized. From then on, I haven't refrigerated it. Perfect! I reuse an empty plastic syrup bottle and keep it in the cupboard. Tastes even better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This is the identical syrup recipe (don't remember where I found it ) I've been using for 30+ years..I like it better than any bottled ones I've used..so do my kids and friends who have tried it...I don't like to use brand names unless it makes a difference, but be sure to use Mapeline brand flavoring..tried others,that didn't taste as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Perris, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Very good and not too difficult to make! It's doesn't seem too thin, but I let it cool to room temperature on the stove and then put it in the refrigerator overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
So good and so easy! Glad I read the reviews before though. I cut down the sugar amount and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess_caleb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Cannon Beach, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I made this syrup this morning for Belgium waffles and it was ouststanding! My granddaughter insisted on her Log Cabin until she tryed it. When I was a child my mother made homemade Maple syrup but it wasn't as good as this recipe. I plan to continue make this syrup, no more store bought syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyBreak2Day

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Syrup

A must-have sweetener. It’s not called “simple” for nothing.

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States