Maple-Vanilla Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Great recipe. I added a little more vanilla to the recipe than it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Instead of 1/2 cup of white sugar I used 1/4 cup of raw sugar to be more natural and less grams of sugar. It's AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
If it is turning into candy... Your cooking it way to long... Longer and hotter you cook it the more risk of this If it boils durning 8 mins could be big reason why... Some don't know what simmer means so.. What means turn the heat down to 3 let it sit just stire ocasionly. Sujust. Let the sugar desolve complety then let it simmer.. Plus maybe cook it 6 mins verse 8.... But if your bring the heat up to high that might not help...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I love this syrup. I added a tablespoon of bourbon and it really was a nice touch. Now I don't have to buy syrup for pancakes or french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
The first time I made it it crystallized. From then on, I haven't refrigerated it. Perfect! I reuse an empty plastic syrup bottle and keep it in the cupboard. Tastes even better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This is the identical syrup recipe (don't remember where I found it ) I've been using for 30+ years..I like it better than any bottled ones I've used..so do my kids and friends who have tried it...I don't like to use brand names unless it makes a difference, but be sure to use Mapeline brand flavoring..tried others,that didn't taste as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Perris, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Very good and not too difficult to make! It's doesn't seem too thin, but I let it cool to room temperature on the stove and then put it in the refrigerator overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
So good and so easy! Glad I read the reviews before though. I cut down the sugar amount and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess_caleb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Cannon Beach, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I made this syrup this morning for Belgium waffles and it was ouststanding! My granddaughter insisted on her Log Cabin until she tryed it. When I was a child my mother made homemade Maple syrup but it wasn't as good as this recipe. I plan to continue make this syrup, no more store bought syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyBreak2Day

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I have made a variation of this for several years. First, the boiling time is too long- it only needs a minute or two. That's why people are ending up with candy. Also, using all white sugar and adding a tablespoon or so of molasses is the same concept but gives a deeper flavor. I also add butter flavoring to mine sometimes. My family likes it better than any store-bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Syrup

A must-have sweetener. It’s not called “simple” for nothing.

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States