Maple Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Wowser!! A hit. Best thing about it is the terrific colouring it gives to the cooked turkey. Looked like it was perfectly done after two hours. Through tin foil on top to manage. Very moist - many comments from our guests. Should have planned better to brine longer to get full taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selkirk, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This is my favorite and only way I will roast a turkey or chicken now! It leaves the meat so moist! I know it may have a bad smell but it will make the best Thanksgiving Bird you have ever had! The very first time I ever roasted a bird I used this recipe and everyone raved about how amazing it was and how well I did! easy for cooking beginners as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This is the only way we cook our turkeys now!!! Brine and cowboy charcoal!!! Nothing but rave reviews from our family and friends!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I used this brine for my Thanksgiving turkey this year and it made the most delicious bird I've ever tasted! The color was incredible, too. The maple flavor wasn't as strong as I would have liked, but the bird was so tender and juicy it didn't matter. If you're going to brine, this is the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Webigail
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I rated this recipe last year about this time and still love it, I just wanted to add to the review. This year I actually had a nice big 5 gallon bucket from Lowes with a lid to Brine it in for two whole days before putting it in my new convection oven. I made a twenty pound turkey. I used some of the brine to baste the turkey, but not much about a cup. I substituted the brown sugar for a brown sugar I made with stevia instead, so basically molasses and stevia in the raw. I did double the recipe though since I needed more than original recipe called for with such a large turkey. This Brine is super delicious though. For those of you using a brine for the first time, make sure you rinse the brine off before cooking/baking otherwise the salt will overwhelm you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This will be the brine that I use from now on. It was excellent. I put it together the Tuesday night before Thanksgiving so that it could chill over night and I could start brining the turkey on Wednesday. I did a taste test after it was simmering for several minutes and decided to up the maple syrup to 2 cups instead of 1 because I wanted more of a maple flavor. With this addition, it was perfect for my taste. The finished turkey turned out neither too sweet nor too salty and so moist. I cooked a small turkey - just under 11 lbs. and the amount of brine this reciped yielded was perfect for that. You might want to consider doubling the recipe if you are doing a large turkey. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Oh my, this was good. I left out the bay leaf, subbed Maker's Mark for the sour mash and marinated a pork rib roast overnight. Roasted it at 450 for 15 minutes, dropped the temperature to 350 until the roast was just barely pink. What wonderful flavor. It was so good I boiled the marinade and used it as a sauce alongside the roast and simmered the leftovers to reheat. I will use this often-thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This is a great brine, the soy sauce gives the turkey a lovely rich color and the turkey was very juicy. I put the garlic cloves in the cavity for cooking and people were fighting for them! For smaller birds, use a shorter time in the brine to keep it from being too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by melissa
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
i was so nervous about this brine- my husband chose the recipe, and when it was hot it smelled AWFUL! i let it cool, and it smelled a little better, but just a little. i made just a turkey breast (though it was huge!), so i brined it about 12 hrs, then roasted it with butter and maple syrup glaze (martha stewart has a good recipe). my husband's fave holiday is thanksgiving- he took me aside to say it was by far the best turkey he's ever had. not bad for the vegetarian chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple Glazed Butternut Squash

Tender butternut squash is topped with a simple maple-rum glaze.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Perfect Turkey

Make a perfect turkey, every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States