Maple Syrup Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Great recipe! The second time I made them, I used a muffin pan and added some bacon pieces. AWESOME breakfast muffins!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
I am sure this pudding will be the best I've tasted!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This may be helpful...Some people seem to not be familiar with a traditional English (I think the Canadians may be using this also) pudding which is more like a gooey bread ie: figgy pudding, plum pudding, black pudding etc. The creamy stuff we call pudding in the U.S. would be referred to as a custard in most places.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Excellent!! Just like an English pudding. Eat it with some warm custard... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I used corn syrup because maple syrup in Italy is very expensive and I use it only for pancakes! This cake is not properly a pudding, but it's more like a plum cake with a nice flavour of corn (or maple) syrup. Not too sweet, the next time I will add more sugar. I added a 1/3 cup of flour because it seemed too liquid. The corn syrup didn't sink to the bottom as written in the recipe. I prefer it cold and I think it's a good cake only for breakfast. Cooking time is ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Verona, Veneto , Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
A very good pudding recipe. (Puddng as in bread pudding, figgy pudding, that kind of thing, not the custard we call pudding here in the states.) Add some nuts and this gets a five star rating. It's good to learn the tastes and foods of other countries. We in the states don't have to serve just what is familiar to us. Expand your horizons. Most cooks could look at this recipe and tell it is going to be bread or cake like before they make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I made this as a steamed pudding in a basin/steamer instead of baking it in the oven. I also placed the Maple Syrup at the bottom of a greased and lined steamer and added the batter on top. Upturn the pudding and the syrup runs down the sides. In regard to it being "a pudding" to me this is what we Brits call puddings, and I guess other Commonwealth countries the same. SamanthaAust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
I'm confused too!!! I have to agree with the other reviewer: this was absolutely CAKE. Very good cake but defintely cake. No pudding or "maple syrup on bottom" to be found. Yummy but not as described...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinaMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sedona, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
A traditional pudding has a spongy, cake like texture; it is not the pie filling most consider pudding. Other examples are a steamed pudding or a plum pudding or even spoon bread. There is no need to disparage this recipe as two different types of "puddings" are being confused by the cooks. Give it a try on its own merit and broaden your culinary knowledge. Then try a traditional steamed pudding for your holiday meal; brought to the table alight - it's stunning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I'm thinking that this should be called Maple Syrup BREAD Pudding so that everyone will stop being confused.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States