Maple Syrup Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This may be helpful...Some people seem to not be familiar with a traditional English (I think the Canadians may be using this also) pudding which is more like a gooey bread ie: figgy pudding, plum pudding, black pudding etc. The creamy stuff we call pudding in the U.S. would be referred to as a custard in most places.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
A traditional pudding has a spongy, cake like texture; it is not the pie filling most consider pudding. Other examples are a steamed pudding or a plum pudding or even spoon bread. There is no need to disparage this recipe as two different types of "puddings" are being confused by the cooks. Give it a try on its own merit and broaden your culinary knowledge. Then try a traditional steamed pudding for your holiday meal; brought to the table alight - it's stunning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
First off let me say this is a decent recipe. For a non-steamed pudding it was nice. Simple, relatively quick, easy and inexpensive to make. The 10 minute beating of the initial wet ingredients is, in my opinion, not necessary. 3-5 minutes fo this small amount is acceptable, as long as you have a good smooth blend. Also, if you do not have (real) maple syrup, the average maple flavoured table syrup that the vast majority of us have in the cupboard is fine, and can often be flavoured more strongly than real syrup. As to the complaints I read... I do not feel this is a good forum for complaints. If you had issues making the recipe, tips or tweaks to make it better then by all means, but the out and out complaints and bashing are in poor taste. Especially when wrong. Being an American living in Canada, I have a broader view than some. Try and remember, the net is not confined to the US. Therefore anything you see online has a very good likelihood of being from elsewhere. Pudding is the British verb used to generically describe dessert ("If you don't eat your meat, you can't have any pudding, hoe can you have any pudding if you don't eat your meat?!"). American style pudding did not become common until around the 1930's. "Traditional Pudding" would be a bread or cake like dish, more often than not sweet these days. So, if you are going to complain, please make sure you know what you are speaking of. Thanks for the recipe by the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Missouri, USA
Living In: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
this is not the traditional "pudding" as in a smooth jello pudding texture. It is a lot more like a soft cake. it is based on a recipe in Quebec called "pudding chomeur". It is served at most restaurants here and is a very popular dessert. Why it is called pudding we will never know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Excellent!! Just like an English pudding. Eat it with some warm custard... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
A very good pudding recipe. (Puddng as in bread pudding, figgy pudding, that kind of thing, not the custard we call pudding here in the states.) Add some nuts and this gets a five star rating. It's good to learn the tastes and foods of other countries. We in the states don't have to serve just what is familiar to us. Expand your horizons. Most cooks could look at this recipe and tell it is going to be bread or cake like before they make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I'm thinking that this should be called Maple Syrup BREAD Pudding so that everyone will stop being confused.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
I'm confused. It's not pudding at all, it's cake plus it was kind of dry. My family really liked it but I was dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
I agree completely, this was a CAKE! What did I do wrong? There was no surup at the bottom and it was not a pudding. I was really hoping that it would be like the desert my husband and I order at one of our favorite resturants. It's called "Chomeur pudding". It's also got maple in it, but it's definately a pudding. Better luck next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: South Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
"Very simple and easy," indeed. I gathered from glancing at some prior reviews that this was a pudding in the English sense (dessert) and not the American one (custard). But I didn't quite know what to expect. It turned out to be a simple, yet tasty kind of cake with a pronounced, but not too strong, maple flavor. I made it exactly as written, and it turned out fine. But in my case, I think the 45 minute baking time was a little too long, as it was fairly well browned. This is nothing fancy, but I liked it well enough for three nights' desserts. Worth a try, but I'm not sure I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States