Maple Syrup Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
I am sure this pudding will be the best I've tasted!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
I'm confused. It's not pudding at all, it's cake plus it was kind of dry. My family really liked it but I was dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
I'm confused too!!! I have to agree with the other reviewer: this was absolutely CAKE. Very good cake but defintely cake. No pudding or "maple syrup on bottom" to be found. Yummy but not as described...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinaMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sedona, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
I agree completely, this was a CAKE! What did I do wrong? There was no surup at the bottom and it was not a pudding. I was really hoping that it would be like the desert my husband and I order at one of our favorite resturants. It's called "Chomeur pudding". It's also got maple in it, but it's definately a pudding. Better luck next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: South Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
Sorry, but this was a disppointment... the final product turned out nothing like described. I do feel that the recipe can take on a new life with great success as a maple muffin (including walnuts perhaps, or topped with walnut, just not as a maple pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
this is not the traditional "pudding" as in a smooth jello pudding texture. It is a lot more like a soft cake. it is based on a recipe in Quebec called "pudding chomeur". It is served at most restaurants here and is a very popular dessert. Why it is called pudding we will never know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This may be helpful...Some people seem to not be familiar with a traditional English (I think the Canadians may be using this also) pudding which is more like a gooey bread ie: figgy pudding, plum pudding, black pudding etc. The creamy stuff we call pudding in the U.S. would be referred to as a custard in most places.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Excellent!! Just like an English pudding. Eat it with some warm custard... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
A traditional pudding has a spongy, cake like texture; it is not the pie filling most consider pudding. Other examples are a steamed pudding or a plum pudding or even spoon bread. There is no need to disparage this recipe as two different types of "puddings" are being confused by the cooks. Give it a try on its own merit and broaden your culinary knowledge. Then try a traditional steamed pudding for your holiday meal; brought to the table alight - it's stunning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I'm thinking that this should be called Maple Syrup BREAD Pudding so that everyone will stop being confused.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States