Maple Syrup Casserole Made in Heaven Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
A very good breakfast casserole - really sticks to the ribs! Next time I will spread softened cream cheese on each slice of bread. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
I added a few raisins between the layers of bread, and mixed some cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg to the egg-milk-syrup mixture ... This is soooooooooooooo Good! Thanks Dawn for a fabulous recipe, too bad the rating stars only go to 5, cause this one gets a 10 in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
This is an awsome recipe, I had something similar at a bed and breakfast in Amana Iowa. They also had a apple/maple surup to drizzle over it. I made this for my MOMS Club brunch and it got rave reveiws!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
I have had the pleasure of having this recipe for about a year. I used to make it only for brunches, but everyone loved it so much, I now make it and keep it in the fridge to be heated up in individual servings by anyone needing a quick breakfast. Much better than those toaster things and better for you. It is gone pretty quickly since they eat it after school, after work and for dessert. An all around favorite. I have put raisins in it and added nutmeg also apples cut in small pieces. The blueberry sounds good, I'll give that a try. Everyone loves this one, it is easy and good a real keeper. In reading some reviews that have had mushy results. I don't leave the bread whole, I cut it up into bite size pieces. The first time I made it, it was a little mushy, so I put it into the micro to firm it up. It came out fine, I found that if I cut up the bread, it got firm quicker, I don't like wet french toast either. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
This recipe was too easy to taste so good! I cannot eat sugar, so here is how I altered the recipe: I used 1/3 less fat cream cheese, skim milk, 6 boxes of egg scramblers and sugar free maple flavored syrup. This version cut the fat and cholesterol also. Served it with additional sugar free syrup on the side. Sherry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
What a wonderful breakfast. Our family did like to drizzle additional maple syrup over the top for extra sweetness. This is one I will certainly make for my next brunch get together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
I served this delicious recipe at my seniors citizens coffee hour. It literally disappeared in minutes. I added some raspberry jam to the creamcheese and cut back a little on the syrup, also added cinnamon to the batter. I sprayed the pan with Pam before layering. Got many requests for the recipe. Will definitely serve this many, many times. It will be a new treat for my grandchildren when the visit. THANKS Dawn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
Wow! What an excellent recipe. All I added was the cinnamon, cloves & nutmeg. Kind of a cross between french toast & bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moondusted

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Strawberry Plains, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
I made this for family when we were visiting and it was a hit! Real maple syrup seems to be a key. I will be sure to use a bit more than 1# of bread next time, this one came out a bit mushy in the middle - but delicious none-the-less. Try spooning the egg mixture onto the bread to prevent it running over the edge. I would love to make it with craisons and almonds next time - and the spice recommendations from previous reviews sound yummy, too. We actually LIKED the "clumps" of cream cheese - came out rather like a cream cheese danish. I've also had good luck with using whipped cream cheese, and spreading it on the slices of bread before cutting it into cubes. I'll be making this for one of our next faculty meetings, they'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne in Minnesota

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
I served this at Easter brunch and my family loved it! Everyone couldn’t wait to dig in, as it looked very pretty and impressive as I took it out of the oven. It puffed up and was nice and golden brown. I only used 1.5 cups of syrup (that's all I had) and it was plenty sweet, no one added any to their serving. I also choose not to spread the cream cheese as others had suggested and was glad…for one it made it easier to make and second I thought it made it look prettier. I also sprinkled cinnamon on each of the layers. I was worried that it would be soggy as others had complained but mine turned out more what I would call fluffy, not soggy. Also, as for the portions… recipe said it served 8 but with 5 adults and 2 kids we only ate a little less than half. Of course we had other items but I will only make half for the same number of people next time. I will definitely make this again and so will some of the guest I served it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States