Maple Syrup Casserole Made in Heaven Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
This is an awsome recipe, I had something similar at a bed and breakfast in Amana Iowa. They also had a apple/maple surup to drizzle over it. I made this for my MOMS Club brunch and it got rave reveiws!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
I added a few raisins between the layers of bread, and mixed some cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg to the egg-milk-syrup mixture ... This is soooooooooooooo Good! Thanks Dawn for a fabulous recipe, too bad the rating stars only go to 5, cause this one gets a 10 in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
I have had the pleasure of having this recipe for about a year. I used to make it only for brunches, but everyone loved it so much, I now make it and keep it in the fridge to be heated up in individual servings by anyone needing a quick breakfast. Much better than those toaster things and better for you. It is gone pretty quickly since they eat it after school, after work and for dessert. An all around favorite. I have put raisins in it and added nutmeg also apples cut in small pieces. The blueberry sounds good, I'll give that a try. Everyone loves this one, it is easy and good a real keeper. In reading some reviews that have had mushy results. I don't leave the bread whole, I cut it up into bite size pieces. The first time I made it, it was a little mushy, so I put it into the micro to firm it up. It came out fine, I found that if I cut up the bread, it got firm quicker, I don't like wet french toast either. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
I prepared this recipe last night and we ate it this morning. It really was delicious - the perfect brunch with a fresh cup of coffee. However, I made one change: I added only 1 cup of maple syrup. Adding more than that will make it cloyingly sweet. It still baked perfectly for 45 minutes at 375. The author did not state whether to cover it or not, I chose not to and it was just perfect - will definately make again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
This recipe was too easy to taste so good! I cannot eat sugar, so here is how I altered the recipe: I used 1/3 less fat cream cheese, skim milk, 6 boxes of egg scramblers and sugar free maple flavored syrup. This version cut the fat and cholesterol also. Served it with additional sugar free syrup on the side. Sherry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
What a wonderful breakfast. Our family did like to drizzle additional maple syrup over the top for extra sweetness. This is one I will certainly make for my next brunch get together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
A very good breakfast casserole - really sticks to the ribs! Next time I will spread softened cream cheese on each slice of bread. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
I served this delicious recipe at my seniors citizens coffee hour. It literally disappeared in minutes. I added some raspberry jam to the creamcheese and cut back a little on the syrup, also added cinnamon to the batter. I sprayed the pan with Pam before layering. Got many requests for the recipe. Will definitely serve this many, many times. It will be a new treat for my grandchildren when the visit. THANKS Dawn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
I was so excited to try this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly as it said and it came out totally gross. I don't know what I did wrong but mine came out mushy all throughout and very bland. The top rose up real high and fluffy..looked great but tasted awful..anyone know what could have been done wrong?? Help?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
I don't normally take the time to review recipes, but I didn't want anyone else to serve this up at a big family gathering and have NOONE like it except a little 3 year old that would eat anything. First of all, spreading the cream cheese does seem important so you don't have clumps. Second, it was a mushy texture that was pretty gross. Finally, it really needed maple syrup served with it to make it taste edible. I thought with 2 cups in the recipe it would be sweet enough, but everyone added more syrup. I was so excited to try a dish you could make the night before, but next time I'll remember my rule not to test new recipes when I'm having company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States