Maple Syrup Casserole Made in Heaven Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
Good, but...in my opinion: too many eggs!! They overpowered the other flavors in many places. I'll make this again, but with 10 eggs, not 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
I wasn't very impressed with this recipe. I didn't find it very flavourful at all, and I had even used flavoured cream cheese (cinnamon & brown sugar). My boyfriend didn't mind it, but he wasn't quite thrilled either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Forbidden Fruit Cocktail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prince Rupert, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2003
I thought it was very yummy. I had to cook it longer because it was not cooked in the middle. I used cinnamon. It tasted like bread pudding. I thought the clumps of cream cheese were delicious! Overall, I was happy with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2003
The rating is more out of personal preference. If you like bread-pudding type recipes, you'll probably enjoy this. Oddly enough, with all of this syrup, one of the consumers of the dish commented that he would have liked some more syrup to put on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Valley, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
I served this at Easter brunch and my family loved it! Everyone couldn’t wait to dig in, as it looked very pretty and impressive as I took it out of the oven. It puffed up and was nice and golden brown. I only used 1.5 cups of syrup (that's all I had) and it was plenty sweet, no one added any to their serving. I also choose not to spread the cream cheese as others had suggested and was glad…for one it made it easier to make and second I thought it made it look prettier. I also sprinkled cinnamon on each of the layers. I was worried that it would be soggy as others had complained but mine turned out more what I would call fluffy, not soggy. Also, as for the portions… recipe said it served 8 but with 5 adults and 2 kids we only ate a little less than half. Of course we had other items but I will only make half for the same number of people next time. I will definitely make this again and so will some of the guest I served it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
I too, wish I had read the reviews prior to preparing this dish for Easter brunch. It was very mushy in the middle, too crispy around the edges and bottom and had little flavor. No one in my family was thrilled with this one, in fact many good humored jokes were made at it's expense. Thankfully I halved the recipe, less to throw out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
I wish we would have read the reviews before we made this recipe...I believe it would have turned out better if we would have spread the cream cheese on the french bread. This recipe was delicious. It tasted more like a dessert than a meal. It was very sweet. I will make it again, but I will be sure to have something else to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
I was disappointed with this recipe. I usually read the reveiws before trying out a recipe but with this one I didn't. I probably wouldn't have tried it. The bread was very mushy. And the taste was bland. My children eat about anything and didn't care for this one either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
I didn't care for the cream cheese in this recipe & I love cream cheese. Other than that it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
This is good only right out of the oven and you must spread cream cheese on every slice and I also added apricot jam to every slice. This is somewhat like a bread pudding. You have to like the semi mushy texture in the middle due to the egg mixture and bread. We liked it right out of the oven, the next day we did not like it at all. This meal makes alot of casserole! Too much for a hearty family of five. So Sorry..... We as a family of 5 did not like this one at all. We vote recipies as a family to bump it or dump it and this one was unanimous to dump it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FERBONIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States