Maple Syrup Casserole Made in Heaven Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
I cut the recipe in half and used a smaller casserole dish and sprinkled cinnamon over each slice of bread. The top and bottom were nicely toasted but the center was too mushy. We like our french toast pretty firm. The overall flavor was good but it was too soggy. If I were to try it again, it would use a larger pan and not layer it as high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
I made this for family when we were visiting and it was a hit! Real maple syrup seems to be a key. I will be sure to use a bit more than 1# of bread next time, this one came out a bit mushy in the middle - but delicious none-the-less. Try spooning the egg mixture onto the bread to prevent it running over the edge. I would love to make it with craisons and almonds next time - and the spice recommendations from previous reviews sound yummy, too. We actually LIKED the "clumps" of cream cheese - came out rather like a cream cheese danish. I've also had good luck with using whipped cream cheese, and spreading it on the slices of bread before cutting it into cubes. I'll be making this for one of our next faculty meetings, they'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne in Minnesota

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
Wow! What an excellent recipe. All I added was the cinnamon, cloves & nutmeg. Kind of a cross between french toast & bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moondusted

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Pigeon Forge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
ive made this twice so far once turned out really good once just ok. i got better results when i used real maple syrup rather than the imitation syrup. i will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Baldwinsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
I don't normally take the time to review recipes, but I didn't want anyone else to serve this up at a big family gathering and have NOONE like it except a little 3 year old that would eat anything. First of all, spreading the cream cheese does seem important so you don't have clumps. Second, it was a mushy texture that was pretty gross. Finally, it really needed maple syrup served with it to make it taste edible. I thought with 2 cups in the recipe it would be sweet enough, but everyone added more syrup. I was so excited to try a dish you could make the night before, but next time I'll remember my rule not to test new recipes when I'm having company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
I was so excited to try this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly as it said and it came out totally gross. I don't know what I did wrong but mine came out mushy all throughout and very bland. The top rose up real high and fluffy..looked great but tasted awful..anyone know what could have been done wrong?? Help?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
I served this delicious recipe at my seniors citizens coffee hour. It literally disappeared in minutes. I added some raspberry jam to the creamcheese and cut back a little on the syrup, also added cinnamon to the batter. I sprayed the pan with Pam before layering. Got many requests for the recipe. Will definitely serve this many, many times. It will be a new treat for my grandchildren when the visit. THANKS Dawn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
A very good breakfast casserole - really sticks to the ribs! Next time I will spread softened cream cheese on each slice of bread. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
What a wonderful breakfast. Our family did like to drizzle additional maple syrup over the top for extra sweetness. This is one I will certainly make for my next brunch get together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
This recipe was too easy to taste so good! I cannot eat sugar, so here is how I altered the recipe: I used 1/3 less fat cream cheese, skim milk, 6 boxes of egg scramblers and sugar free maple flavored syrup. This version cut the fat and cholesterol also. Served it with additional sugar free syrup on the side. Sherry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States