Maple Sponge Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This recipe is really easy to make, but I didn't think it had very much flavor.....I didn't think it was anything special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I enjoyed flavor of this candy!! The only thing I would recommended is not using candy thermonmeter and just waiting until syrup mixture comes to a boil. On the first attempt I allowed syrup mixture to boil at referred temperature, but candy came at hard and burnlike, but on the second attempt I did not use the candy thermonmeter and only allowed mixture to boil for three minutes prior to adding baking soda and then allow it to set in refrigerator for a few hours. Candy came out decent afterwards, and I was able to break them into nicer pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I had problems making "sponge candy" the first time...actually it was a disaster! I was so relieved to know i wasn't the only one. this recipe is so much better and it was a hit! each time i make it, it gets easier and easier....wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randi Kirsch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Yum Yum Yum. This was my first successful attempt at sponge candy..i followed the recipe exactly, only I used parchment paper in the pan for easy cleanup. This was a huge success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I used 3/4 C Dark Corn Syrup, and 1/4 C Maple flavored Syrup instead of the full cup of maple syrup. It turned out wonderfully! Great recipe, thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Not as foamy as I would have liked, hopefully that will come with practice. This was delicious with real maple syrup. This NEEDS the sprayed foil as recommended... a greased pan is not enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mander

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I don't know what went wrong but I followed the recipe verbatim. It wasn't solid it turned to powder when I went to break it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
not hard at all! i didn't have a thermometer... and it still came out so good! my family was really surprised that i did such a great job. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
This attempt, I took the advice to line the pan with sprayed foil. Took it off heat at 290-295...It turned out perfect. Doesn't stick to my teetch as much as the last batch did...I've eaten so much already that my mouth is getting sore...This is really good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
The recipe I use is 1 c. sugar, 1 c. dark corn syrup, 1 tbl. vinagar and 1 Tbl of soda. I bring the first 3 ing. to 300 deg. then add soda. I line a 9 x 13 pan with parchment paper and spray it with pam. When you pour the hot candy into the pan do not spread it. It will spread itself and let cool completely for about 1 hour before you remove it. After it has cooled remove from pan and remove parchment. Break into pieces. Dip into chocolate.This recipe does work if you follow the directions. Also invest in a candy themometor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States