Maple Sausage Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
Delicious and easy recipe to take to brunches! I browned the sausage first and drained it, it makes them much less greasy if you want to cut down on fat. They are just as good or better that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I followed another reviewers advice and pre-cooked the sausage and drained it on a paper towels to cut down on the fat. I used Krusteaz pancake mix since that's what I had on hand and Dubliner Cheese. It's a great, sharp, white cheddar. Since I precooked the sausage I added one egg to help the balls hold together better...and I couldn't resist adding a Tbsp of real maple syrup. They also required less cooking time...about 10 min. These were a big hit with the family! I served them on the side of some home-made roasted tomato soup. It was the perfect snowy night meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah
Home Town: Repulse Bay, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong
Living In: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
This was really good. I used about 1 1/3 pounds regular sausage with 2 Tbsp. real maple syrup. I will be making these again! My kids couldn't eat them fast enough. ***Note: These are so much better with a butter-based biscuit mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
These are really yummy. I put foil on my baking sheet and sprayed it with cooking spray. When I mixed this up (as it is VERY crumbly) I used my hands (just like mixing meatloaf) and it worked really well. BIG HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
These are the best sausage balls I have ever tasted! The maple in the sausage is definitely the key ingredient. It does take a little work in getting it all mixed up, but it is well worth the elbow grease. I have made these 4 times since the new year. Thanks so much, Katherine, for sharing such an enjoyable and simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
Excellent! Everyone loved them even the ones I over cooked. I made a few changes from the reviews I read prior to making them. I used only 1 cup of Pioneer fat-free pancake mix, a roll of Jimmy Dean 50% less fat sausage, 3/4 cup of Kraft fat-free shredded cheese and a 1/3 cup chopped onions. I mixed them in my kitchen aide and they mixed well and easy. I've made them 3 times since Christmas Eve. Boy are they good and healthy this way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Gail

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
These were good but I thought the baking mix made them a little dry and overwhelmed the sausage a little in taste. I think next time, I will cut the mix back to 1-1/2 cups. Be prepared to use a little "elbow" getting this all mixed up. I made about 72 balls and baked them on a cooling rack, sprayed with a little oil, over top of a cookie sheet with foil. All the grease dripped down and it made the clean up a snap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
I have used this recipe close to 10 times since I found it at Thanksgiving. The slight sweetness from the maple sausage is wonderful with a sharp cheddar cheese. My four year old, whom eats like bird, absolutely loves them!! Easy to make...I highly recommend them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin K. Fruchtman
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
Awesomely awesome. Added some pepper and a pinch of tabasco sauce for the zing the male members of my family like, and for my second batch added some maple syrup and a pinch of brown sugar to sweeten the flavor for the girls. Of course, with the delicious core recipe, both sexes loved BOTH flavors. Kudos to sticking with the basics!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
Don't have kids, so am not sure about them, but this is a favorite when we want to settle in and watch a movie. It replaces supper, and is wonderful as a snack and is filling. For those who don't care about the shape, substituting Velveeta (or similar cheese) melted in the microwave makes it easier to mix and gives a more "cheesy" flavor, but the balls sink andn come out more like small cookies. Overall, a major thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States