Maple Sausage Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I used fiber one pancake mix. It was super good and kids loved them! They said it tasted similar to pancake and sausage on a stick they get at school. BUT! I know mine was much healthier for them! One could even use reduced fat sharp cheddar and use the reduced fat sausage and use pure maple syrup too. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I made these for a brunch for a crowd. The dough was easy to make the night before, and we rolled them and baked at 375 for 15 mins in my oven. Each batch made approx 35-40 balls. I had no problem mixing the ingredients together - let the sausage come to room temp and then mixed in order of listed ingredients. I did use 2 T of maple syrup to hold everything together. Will make again for a party this winter. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
These are fabulous! So easy and they taste great! I cooked and drained the sausage, added the baking mix and reduced-fat shredded cheese. To bind the dough, I used just enough real maple syrup to hold the batter together. Great snack for the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Don't use the pork and bacon sausage for this. It is all I had on hand, and maybe that is why we didn't care for these. I'm not sure that I would like any other sausage either since we didn't care for the greasey feeling either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
My mom has made sausage balls all my life, but I wanted something different to prepare for my own potluck. This recipe was a delightful twist on a favorite. I cut back the amount of cheese (didn't measure, sorry). When the balls were done, it seemed the 2 cups of mix dried out the balls and overpowered the maple flavor. So, I brushed maple syrup over the balls after the baking was done. That did the trick because there were none left! Next time, I'll cut back the pancake mix like another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshyne1922

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
We used Jimmy Dean sausage and homemade biscuit mix. Did not much care for the maple flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethpage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
These are a hit! I grease the baking sheet and cook less time than suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
These turned out ok, but I did add a bit of milk and an egg to make the balls stick together. I browned the sausage first too, to cut down on the fat, so I'm sure that made them much more dry when I mixed them. There also was a bit of an aftertaste that bothered some in the family. Next time I will add a bit more flavor, some salt, onion or such to really give them a bit more punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I thought these were great, and I don't tend to like sweet sausage...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
I love sausage, and was really excited to make these. To my dismay they turned out really greasy. We really didn't care for them and I won't be making again. Sorry! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States