Maple Roast Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
This recipe was more time consuming then the usual way I make my turkey but it was sooo worth it. I made it for Christmas dinner and everyone raved. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
This is the second year I have used this recipe for Thankgiving. It is awesome! It is almost impossible to goof up, at least I have not been able to even if I forgot something or did it wrong. It still comes out YUMMY! I have used Apple Cider both years and I too have a liguid under the butter. I just use the apple butter as directed and then use some of the juice too. I baste often and have always had enough pan juices for gravy and never need to add more broth. The gravy is wonderful. I'm going to try this on a whole chicken too. Thank you for this recipe! *** I want to add. I am making this recipe again this year, my original review was in 2002. Last night I made my maple butter. I let it cook and reduce for over an hour. This morning it is all solid butter. I think the key is in the time you allow the cider/syrup mixture cook. I don't think I'll be using the Apple Brandy this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
I guess even I couldn't screw this recipe up! Using apple cider seemed to work fine - my first Thanksgiving turkey was a huge success! It was totally awesome! and the gravy was SO delicious! I will be using this again for sure! Thank you thank you thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
I made this recipe for the first time in 2001. It was delicious then and requested every year since!! This turkey is always a hit and leftovers make fabulous turkey soup..very flavorful! I usually vary the herbs a bit(fresh sage, tarragon, oregano, parsley, thyme and a little cilantro).One of the things I love is that while the reduction is reducing, I can prep the other foods on the menu. I usually make it accompanied by Green beans with crimini mushrooms and shallots recipe I got from food and wine Thanksgiving 2001 and cranberry sauce. This year I tried Killer Cranberry sauce I found on A/R. What a meal!!! Also...McCormick and Schmick's deep dish apple pie recipe is amazing!!! Happy Eating!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
This turkey is simply magnificent. I served it with the Awesome Sausage, Apple and Cranberry Stuffing and created a terrific feast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
The turkey tastes great! It's obviously not a quick recipe, because turkey takes forever to cook, but it's easy to make and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2001
So I had to make my first Thanksgiving Turkey for the in-laws... Now thanks to this recipe I have the full time gig. I guess that is good for the recipe. This recipe wasn't difficult but it takes time, I still give it a 5 Star for flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
My husband made this turkey for Thanksgiving and it was the best turkey we have ever had!!! It was so tender and juicy we couldn't believe it!!! We did not make the gravy, but will do so next year for sure. This would be excellant for roasted chicken, too. Thank you so much for our new family turkey tradition!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNDERAE
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
Great tasting and juicy turkey. This is the best turkey I've ever made. I will definitely make this again next year. Next time I will boil the cider vinegar and maple mixture longer. I don't think I reduced the mixture as it was intended because when it cooled, there was liquid beneath the butter. This made it too tangy to use for the gravy, but that did not affect the flavor of the turkey itself. This was such a good recipe, I couldn't even mess it up! *Actually, I did mess it up!! I mistakenly used apple cider vineger instead of apple cider and it still turned out great. I was wondering why the gravy was so tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
To be honest I don't know what I did, but it turned out perfect...the juciest turkey my family has ever had (and we normally do pretty good). Anyway, it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States